Need help choosing a camping/geocaching/outdoors handheld flashlight

mesquita.mas

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

I am new to the flashlight world and would like some help in finding the ideal flashlight.

I am currently using a Grundig LedTech Aluminium 3 LED flashlight for outdooractivities such as camping, geocaching, night hiking, amateur spelunking, and also general home use. It's fine for general home use and it gets the job done in the other areas but I am looking for a "real" flashlight that can illuminate much more when I am doing those activities, as the geocaching aspect takes me to dark forests, caves, mines, tunnels and places like that.

I am looking for a flashlight with this characteristics:

• Is handheld;
  • Is not too big, maybe 8 inches maximum (about 20 centimeters);
  • With the best location for the switch, I have no opinion;
  • Uses LED technology;
  • Illuminates a relatively wide area more than being a focused beam of light (not sure if this means that I want "flood" more than "throw", it seems so);
  • Has good illuminating power, though I cannot correlate this to lumens. About the best at my budget range;
  • Has different light levels, it's not too important but I think it is a nice feature;
  • Has rechargable batteries but not proprietary ones, so I can easily buy aditional or replacement ones;
  • Its batteries provide a good runtime and are of recent technology, like lithium;
  • Is resistant and has a good build quality, preferably with a metal finish;
  • Is within my 65€ (about 80$) budget (for the flashlight only, shipping and other costs not included).

I am thinking of purchasing the flashlight online.

I have been looking trough some brand sites like Fenix, Inova, Maglite, Surefire, Streamlight and Pelican but they have so many products that a newbie like me can't handle all the information, plus I have no experience in what brands have the best value-for-money, so feel free to recomend products from other manufacturers.