4 Sevens
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 110

Thread: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

  1. #1

    Default Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    I thought Powerex mind have some since I have 1.6v powerex's in AA but didn't find any.

    I can't use rechargeables for the remote for my car alarm as it doesn't last long and I hate using
    no rechargeable batteries. What are my options and how long would the rechargeable last compared
    to normal alkalines?

    Thanks

    George

  2. #2
    *Flashaholic* fyrstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Northern VA, USA
    Posts
    5,775

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    I'm not aware of any good rechargeable AAAs that go above 1.2v, but Energizer Lithium AAAs last a very long time in low-power applications like remote controls. There's nothing to feel guilty about if you use those.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Quote Originally Posted by guiri View Post
    I thought Powerex mind have some since I have 1.6v powerex's in AA but didn't find any.

    I can't use rechargeables for the remote for my car alarm as it doesn't last long and I hate using
    no rechargeable batteries. What are my options and how long would the rechargeable last compared
    to normal alkalines?

    Thanks

    George
    Sorry but without more information I don't have a clue. There are many factors to account for that are unknown to me such as operating voltage range, current draw and if there is perhaps standby current draw (vampiric).
    Have you tried eneloop (LSD nimh) batteries? When current draw drops below about 50-100ma alkalines can surpass nimh batteries in runtime but higher currents start favoring nimh. As far as the voltage nimh off the charger are up to about 1.4v and then settled after resting to about 1.35v or so with LSD versions maintaining higher voltage longer than standard nimh batteries. Some devices however designed for alkaline batteries (poorly) don't operate well when the voltage drops below 1.3v/cell which makes for short runtimes off nimh and some give battery warnings at 1.3v or so but nimh will run a long time with the low battery indicator on those types of devices.
    Fenix Split rings 1400+ sent, SWIVELS now available also!
    Psalm 112:4 Light shines in the darkness for the godly. They are generous, compassionate, and righteous.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Thanks guys.

    Yeah, I've used eneloops but they don't last long. Not that it matters but I tend to procrastinate changing them and it runs out
    and gives me trouble.

    Alkalines it is then

  5. #5
    Flashaholic* Hondo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    882

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    My guess is what you have are "Powergenix" nickel-zinc batteries, not Powerex, which are NiMH's. I use them in our digicams for the higher voltage, as they won't come close to using all of the charge in an Eneloop, only the top 1/3 to 1/2 of the charge. It is like having rechargable Energizer L91's, but with less capacity.

    Unfortunately, they seem to have tanked, and are not on the market anymore, and never got far enough along to produce a AAA version of the cells.

    Energizer L92's would be the best solution, but may cost more than alkalines in the long run, depending on how much of the capacity of the alkaline is really being used by the device. But they won't wreck the device by leaking, which the alkalines eventually will. Most remotes run years on a coin cell, so I would think that the L92's would be darn near a one-time investment for a remote like that. Add to that that they will still perform well at extreme high and low temperatures, and I would recommend trying them at least once.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    You're prolly right about the brand name, my memory is very so, so

    My remote does take a bit more juice because I use it all the time and I always start and unlock/lock with the remote so no, it won't run years on a coin cell and it's not that
    I'm looking for a way to save money or anything else, like I said, I'm a bit lazy and keep running it till it's empty and then of course it won't work right so I was
    just looking for something for longer runtime.
    Alkalines are it but I hate throwing away batteries.

    I'll look into these energizers, thanks

  7. #7

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    How often do you use a set of alkalines up in it?
    Fenix Split rings 1400+ sent, SWIVELS now available also!
    Psalm 112:4 Light shines in the darkness for the godly. They are generous, compassionate, and righteous.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Can't say exactly but maybe 3 months..

    Eneloops last around a month or 6 weeks or so

  9. #9

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    HobbyKing has started selling their own NiZn batteries.
    I've yet to see a review though and you'll have to find your own charger. AFAIK you can parallel two batteries and charge as a single cell PB battery.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Quote Originally Posted by guiri View Post
    Can't say exactly but maybe 3 months..

    Eneloops last around a month or 6 weeks or so
    I am betting that alkalines only last about 50% longer than eneloops and that the drain rate is low enough to give you close to to the full capacity of about 2800mah vs 1900mah for eneloops. My advice is use eneloops and pick a day of the month to swap them out like clockwork even if they are not fully discharged or invest in the 2400mah eneloops.
    Fenix Split rings 1400+ sent, SWIVELS now available also!
    Psalm 112:4 Light shines in the darkness for the godly. They are generous, compassionate, and righteous.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Sure, but that's discipline, where can I get some of that? Got a link?

  12. #12

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Do a search for eneloop XX, I think amazon has some for about $17 for 4. They are costlier for the extra capacity (1/4 more) such that most just buy plain eneloops (1900mah) instead which have 1/3 less. Immedian has some 2400s that are cheaper but I am not sure how they hold up some like them last I heard. If it was me I would have 2 sets of them and just keep a spare set nearby for a quick swap (perhaps in the car itself).
    Fenix Split rings 1400+ sent, SWIVELS now available also!
    Psalm 112:4 Light shines in the darkness for the godly. They are generous, compassionate, and righteous.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Yeah, I keep extra batteries but you would have to know what an idiot I am to understand the reasoning for this.

    Anyway, the capacity you're talking about must be AA's, not AAA's which is what I needed...or?

  14. #14

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    I believe Lynx Arc made a little mistake here and forgot that you were looking for AAAs and not AAs .
    There are only 800mAh eneloop AAAs AFAIK.

  15. #15
    *Flashaholic* fyrstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Northern VA, USA
    Posts
    5,775

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Energizer Lithium batteries will last a year or more in the same application, based on my experience. And they will never leak, unlike alkalines, which always leak if you ignore them long enough.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Quote Originally Posted by hellokitty[hk] View Post
    I believe Lynx Arc made a little mistake here and forgot that you were looking for AAAs and not AAs .
    There are only 800mAh eneloop AAAs AFAIK.
    Oops... my bad that is what I get for multitasking too much
    They don't have any larger capacity eneloop AAAs but at 800mah they are similar in runtime difference to AAs perhaps 30-40% or so longer on alkalines I would guess.
    Fenix Split rings 1400+ sent, SWIVELS now available also!
    Psalm 112:4 Light shines in the darkness for the godly. They are generous, compassionate, and righteous.

  17. #17
    Flashaholic* Wrend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    United States, IL
    Posts
    653

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    My advice: get a different car alarm.

    It likely doesn't use alkalines efficiently either, which probably have a lot of their capacity left in them still when you hit the low voltage cutoff.

    Your best bet is probably using lithium primaries, which, if the above is the case, should last a lot longer.

  18. #18

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Yeah but I like my alarm. I've been able to turn the truck on and hence, the AC, from inside of the elevator in our local hospital

    This is not a big issue mind you but I was curious and yeah, I think I'll try a set of those lithiums. Found 4 for 11 bucks shipped on amazon

    Thanks yall and someone slap the hell outta Lynx_Arc for not paying attention

  19. #19
    *Flashaholic* fyrstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Northern VA, USA
    Posts
    5,775

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    BatteryJunction sells Energizer Lithium AAs and AAAs for <$2 apiece if you buy a pack of 20. Best price I've seen anywhere.

  20. #20

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Good price indeed, thanks

  21. #21

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    You won't go wrong with Energizer lithiums. They will power a remote for a long time and they won't ruin your remote by leaking.

  22. #22

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    That's it! Yall talked me into it...

    I'm going for it!

  23. #23

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Guys, I was in a store the other day and found the Energizer Ultimate Lithiums. Didn't look like the ones I found on amazon and I can't find anywhere
    where it says L92 (haven't opened the pack yet) but it says 8x longer lasting so I would assume that these are good enough?

    George

  24. #24

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Another question. These powergenix 1.5v rechargeable or whatever they are. I have a pack of them but never even used them. Are they ok or do I need to take them out and charge them regularly? They are unused?

    Thanks

  25. #25
    Flashaholic* Hondo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    882

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    guiri, those are the batteries you want.

    I don't think that the Powergenix batteries were around long enough to determine the best shelf storage protocol. For sure you don't want to touch NiCad's when they are new if they won't be used for a while. Some say cycle the NiMH's regularly whether you use them or not, but it does not seem to matter with Eneloops.

    I have a bunch of back-up ones for the cameras, as these are the only rechargables they seem to like. I am going with just leaving them in the package until I need them, and if a few don't hold charge, no biggie. I have already lost a couple of the ones in circulation, no longer able to hold charge.

  26. #26

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Cool, thanks

  27. #27

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Alright boys. You were right about those energizers. NOT that I had any doubts or I wouldn't have come here in the first place.

    Anyway, battery ran out and I kept popping others in that I had laying in the car, trying to milk the last juice out of them
    so to speak and they barely turned the unit on.

    THEN, I popped one of them silver suckers in and the whole damn thing lit up like a Christmas tree.
    The little melody it plays when it restarts so to speak has never been this loud. I don't even remember
    it being this loud when I had duracell alkalines in it years ago.

    Awesome.

    Thanks

    George

  28. #28
    *Flashaholic* fyrstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Northern VA, USA
    Posts
    5,775

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    The Energizer Lithium AA/AAA batteries have a full-charge voltage of 1.7v. It's not enough of a difference to damage (almost all) circuitry, but it's enough to give most devices a nice kick in the pants.

  29. #29

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Quote Originally Posted by fyrstormer View Post
    The Energizer Lithium AA/AAA batteries have a full-charge voltage of 1.7v. It's not enough of a difference to damage (almost all) circuitry, but it's enough to give most devices a nice kick in the pants.
    Actually they have a no load voltage new of 1.8V or so. I've measured 1.83v on some I got. That is about 20% higher than ~1.5v cells.
    Fenix Split rings 1400+ sent, SWIVELS now available also!
    Psalm 112:4 Light shines in the darkness for the godly. They are generous, compassionate, and righteous.

  30. #30

    Default Re: Can I replace my Alkaline AAA's with recharhgeable AAA's in 1.5v?

    Sure as hell kick started my remote

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •