Seeking a super-powerful torch for film production work!

lukeflegg

Newly Enlightened
Hello!

Finally I've found somewhere people will understand me and what I need some help with!

I'm a filmmaker and it's not always convenient for me to carry a huge 2.5k HMI lamp somewhere and plug it in to light a scene.
I'd love to sometimes be more dynamic and pack lighter with a powerful torch, now I see how bright they can be!

BEST I'VE SEEN SO FAR:
If you go to Amazon UK and search for
HIGHLY TRUSTFIRE 13000 LUMENS
that's probably the most exciting thing I've found within my price range, though I still haven't found it with batteries & charger for less than £100.

FEATURES I'D LIKE (in priority order):

• Less than £100 for entire kit, delivered
  • Super bright (at least 8,000 lumens?)
  • Battery lasts at least 30 mins... ideally at least 1 or 2 hours (unless spare batteries are cheap & recharge fast)
  • Varying levels of brightness would be brilliant
  • Ideally focusable (though I can use blackwrap or something to crop the light if I have to)

Thanks so much for reading : ]

Illum

Flashaholic
Your biggest limitation would be runtime. Any battery operated lighting instrument will have a finite runtime, usually measured in hours. In the mean time, a fat load of factors such as heat, efficacy, and power will vary the intensity to which the light operates. You mentioned varying levels, find yourself a light that has linear dimming and not by PWM, because the camera can distinguish the on and off times of a light dimmed by PWM. Your eyes will see it as "dim" while the camera interprets it as "slow strobe." There's no way to use it for filming.