Hello and first mod-Mag 2C

crucible

Newly Enlightened
Hello, I've been lurking on the board for some time now, and have gotten lots of neat ideas thus far-thanks! (More on this later...) I'm a newbie by any stretch:)

My wife recently took my first real light-a Surefire Z3 , so that she could use it as some measure of stalling/disorientating some gargoyle while she goes through the dark parking lots, Metro, etc. and that would not raise flags at work (Federal gov.)

Sigh.

So, with less money to spend and needing something that could be used as both a general use and security ala the Surefire, I started looking on the web and came across both this site and the Everled (one on the way) to fit my Mag3d. I then came across some cool ideas here for the Mag2d and purchased one of those as well, and most recently the same with the Mag2C. Thanks alot idea droppers...err wallet thinners:)

Anyway, I chose the 2C mod (found here 2C Mag mod by Ginseng ) with the 3 Cr123 stack using water piping and did it this afternoon-wow! The Radio Shack KPR112 works very well with this mod indeed and comparing it to the Surefire Z3, the Z3 throws a wider bright beam short to medium distances slightly better to obviously better, but the modded Mag is no slouch even in those catagories and in fact bests the Z3 at all longer distances from what I've seen thus far. The modded 2C certianly bests the stock (new) 2D and my old 3D as well.

Other observations:

-The stock spring works fine, though I need to bend the very top to make a better connection with the bottom 123.
-Industrial duct tape is the way to go to expand to fit the Mag-very easy and effective!
-I tried the WriteRight on the lens, but preferred it without.