First Charging = Eneloop XX

B-52

Newly Enlightened
I'm New to Candlepower and i wanted to Ask when Charging new Eneloop XX's in the MaHa C9000 what is best method for the first charge is it best to just charge them or Use Break-End for the First initial charge.. Thanks B-52 :)

SilverFox

Flashaholic
Hello B-52,

Welcome to CPF.

Most of us just charge them and use them. The Break In may provide a marginal increase in capacity, but the time it takes to do the Break In doesn't seem to justify the small amount of capacity gained. At any rate the capacity seems to fall into place after a few charge/discharge cycles.

The default charge rate of 1000 mA is good for the Eneloop cells.

Tom

PapaLumen

Enlightened
Some just use them. Some charge them and use them. Some run the break-in cycle. Some (me) discharge them first, then run the break-in.

B-52

Newly Enlightened
Hey Thanks Guys.. And while i was on here and doing some looking around getting my feet wet! I found the Thread on Panasonic removing the Eneloop Name). I guess it's Ok if the Batteries remain the Same Quality but i wasn't expecting a Name change this Soon as so Many are A custom to the eneloop name an Quality of the battery..

Last edited:

Frijid

Enlightened
When i buy new batteries, if they are already pre-charged, i verify they still have charge in them. if they do and it's a good charge, then i just use them. if they are not LSD, then i charge first. that's all. the only thing i do that would be considered "break in" is by just using them like i normally would.