Wuben        
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

  1. #1
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    I have a BC-700 which has suffered a severe shock when my brother accidentally connected it to another power supply with identical connector (for another charger), which was rated 12V instead of the 3V used by the BC-700.

    Of course, it is now quite dead. However I am looking to revive it. If I am lucky, only some of the input path suffered catastrophic failure and I may have a chance.

    PCB is marked G216D1V09.

    I have looked at the PCB and identified 2 SMD components on the input path, beyond which there is no sign of input voltage.
    A 3 pin component marked H2A and a 5 pin component marked L21R.
    So far I haven't been able to identify these components, but without much luck.

    Has anyone been able to repair one after a similar failure?

  2. #2
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Quote Originally Posted by andrixnet View Post
    I have a BC-700 which has suffered a severe shock when my brother accidentally connected it to another power supply with identical connector (for another charger), which was rated 12V instead of the 3V used by the BC-700.

    Of course, it is now quite dead. However I am looking to revive it. If I am lucky, only some of the input path suffered catastrophic failure and I may have a chance.

    PCB is marked G216D1V09.

    I have looked at the PCB and identified 2 SMD components on the input path, beyond which there is no sign of input voltage.
    A 3 pin component marked H2A and a 5 pin component marked L21R.
    So far I haven't been able to identify these components, but without much luck.

    Has anyone been able to repair one after a similar failure?

    I did the same thing on a pcb marked ending V06. Only one component blew, the one next to the power connector which i cannot identify, perhaps someone else knows what it is so i can replace it? ?

    Regards

  3. #3
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Hi, I have the same problem (12V instead od 3V). Did you manage to fix it?

  4. #4
    Flashaholic* ChrisGarrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    4,935

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Quote Originally Posted by stonek View Post
    Hi, I have the same problem (12V instead od 3V). Did you manage to fix it?
    Didn't watch it, but this might help:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ibkfh6HAvac

    Seems from the comments, that he might have fried the processor, but I don't know.

    Chris
    Convoy: S2, S2+, M1, M2, Fenix: P1D, PD32, HL30, ET: D25C Ti, SF: 6P, ZL: SC-600, Klarus: P2A, Jetbeam: BA-20, Icon: Rogue 1, L3: L10, Xeno: E03, ShiningBeam: I-Mini, Olight: i3s, SWM: D40A, M11R, V11R, Maglite: 6Ds, MMs, Solitaires, LaCrosse BC-700, Maha C-9000, XTAR VP2, MP1S, XP1, MC1+, WP2 II, NiteCore i4, v2.

  5. #5
    Flashaholic* ShineOnYouCrazyDiamond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    4,442

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Happened to me a year or so back as well. Accepted the loss and bought a new one. Even if you fix one seemingly bad component you'll never know for sure what other damage you did upstream.

  6. #6
    Flashaholic* ChrisGarrett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Miami, Florida
    Posts
    4,935

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Quote Originally Posted by ShineOnYouCrazyDiamond View Post
    Happened to me a year or so back as well. Accepted the loss and bought a new one. Even if you fix one seemingly bad component you'll never know for sure what other damage you did upstream.
    Funny, but I did the same thing one night, but with my Maha C9000, when I grabbed the 14.4v WW for my Rayovac IC3 15 min. charger. It worked fine on discharge, but when I started to 'charge,' it would reboot itself. Since it was fairly new, I thought it was defective.

    Once I realized that I had the wrong PSU, I got out some yellow model paint and painted the proper names on each wall wart and 12v car adapters.

    The C9000 has been working fine for 4+ years, so I didn't kill it.

    Chris
    Convoy: S2, S2+, M1, M2, Fenix: P1D, PD32, HL30, ET: D25C Ti, SF: 6P, ZL: SC-600, Klarus: P2A, Jetbeam: BA-20, Icon: Rogue 1, L3: L10, Xeno: E03, ShiningBeam: I-Mini, Olight: i3s, SWM: D40A, M11R, V11R, Maglite: 6Ds, MMs, Solitaires, LaCrosse BC-700, Maha C-9000, XTAR VP2, MP1S, XP1, MC1+, WP2 II, NiteCore i4, v2.

  7. #7
    Flashaholic* TinderBox (UK)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    England, United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,434

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    My BC-900 clone is blue and gray (techno line ic8800) and the charger is blue and gray, all my other psu are black so it`s a lot harder for me to make that mistake.

    John.
    "Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life." - Terry Pratchett.

  8. #8
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    593

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    I frequently promise myself that I'll immediately label the power brick every time I open a new product. I've been making this promise for ages now, and I hope I eventually keep it. (And I'm trying to standardize on USB-powered devices, but that's not always easy either).

  9. #9
    Flashaholic* RI Chevy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ocean State
    Posts
    3,600

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    I just keep all of mine connected and place them in a larger storage bin. This way I don't mix them up.

  10. #10
    Flashaholic* ShineOnYouCrazyDiamond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    4,442

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Quote Originally Posted by RI Chevy View Post
    I just keep all of mine connected and place them in a larger storage bin. This way I don't mix them up.
    Trust me. I was doing the same thing. It happened when I was cleaning my desk and re-doing the wiring. I didn't realize that two of the wall-warts had the same plug. I think I plugged in either a 9v or a 12v adapter. All I know is it went on, off, and that was that.

  11. #11
    Flashaholic* RI Chevy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ocean State
    Posts
    3,600

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    I hear ya. I am going to label all of mine now after reading. Lol

  12. #12
    Flashaholic* ShineOnYouCrazyDiamond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    4,442

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    ditto

  13. #13

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Post the photos of PCB from the both sides, then we can say more.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Post the photos of PCB from the both sides, then we can say more.

  15. #15
    Flashaholic* TinderBox (UK)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    England, United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,434

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Is the charger below £20 a rebranded "everActive NC 1000" as it`s hard to find at the moment and they are £40+ for those who don't need li-ion support.

    https://www.7dayshop.com/products/7d...ies-WH2-DS-127

    John.
    "Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life." - Terry Pratchett.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Quote Originally Posted by andrixnet View Post
    I have a BC-700 which has suffered a severe shock when my brother accidentally connected it to another power supply with identical connector (for another charger), which was rated 12V instead of the 3V used by the BC-700.

    Of course, it is now quite dead. However I am looking to revive it. If I am lucky, only some of the input path suffered catastrophic failure and I may have a chance.

    PCB is marked G216D1V09.

    I have looked at the PCB and identified 2 SMD components on the input path, beyond which there is no sign of input voltage.
    A 3 pin component marked H2A and a 5 pin component marked L21R.
    So far I haven't been able to identify these components, but without much luck.

    Has anyone been able to repair one after a similar failure?
    The L21R is a 21 ohm resistor and the H2A is a transistor I think NPN but not sure, however it is possible that the "A" could be a "4" and the "L" could be a "1" check closely to make sure as I have made that mistake before. If you can, try and test the resistor and see if you get a measurement it is possible if it is not fried that it is ok, I'm guessing the transistor got toasted though.
    Last edited by Lynx_Arc; 03-16-2016 at 09:33 AM.
    Fenix Split rings 1400+ sent, SWIVELS now available also!
    Psalm 112:4 Light shines in the darkness for the godly. They are generous, compassionate, and righteous.

  17. #17
    Flashaholic* MidnightDistortions's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Illinois, United States
    Posts
    1,123

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Labeling the cords at both ends are ideal. I have an identical cord for my C9000 charger and an external hard drive enclosure. Best not to get them mixed up by labeling them.
    LED Lights: ThruNite TN4A, Coast HP7, LEDLenser T7, Fenix E25, Fenix LD41, Maglite 2D, Maglite XL50, Maglite 3D (3rd Gen), AA MiniMaglite Pro+
    Chargers: Maha C9000, La Crosse BC1000, Panasonic BQ-CC17, Eneloop user.

  18. #18
    Flashaholic* TinderBox (UK)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    England, United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,434

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Get one of those dynamo type printers, they are not that expensive.

    John.
    "Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life." - Terry Pratchett.

  19. #19
    Flashaholic* TinderBox (UK)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    England, United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,434

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    24hrs only get 10% of 7dayshop products with code EASTER10

    4 AA or AAA usb charger with lcd for £7.99

    https://www.7dayshop.com/products/7d...WH2-7DAY600LCD

    Quote Originally Posted by TinderBox (UK) View Post
    Is the charger below £20 a rebranded "everActive NC 1000" as it`s hard to find at the moment and they are £40+ for those who don't need li-ion support.

    https://www.7dayshop.com/products/7d...ies-WH2-DS-127

    John.
    "Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life." - Terry Pratchett.

  20. #20
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    The entry is not serious.
    During charging, the battery has overheated. Thermal protection did not work. The hot battery melted the bc-900 charger housing. Is it possible to buy a small housing for this device. in a la croose company or in another. For aesthetic reasons. I did not notice any damage on the PCB G216D1V09 board

  21. #21
    Flashaholic* hiuintahs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,768

    Default Re: Reparing a "La Crosse BC-700"

    Quote Originally Posted by mariusz002 View Post
    ........During charging, the battery has overheated. Thermal protection did not work. The hot battery melted the bc-900 charger housing. Is it possible to buy a small housing for this device. in a la croose company or in another. For aesthetic reasons. I did not notice any damage on the PCB G216D1V09 board
    Throw away electronics world. You won't be able to purchase just the chassis. The least expensive you could do is to buy someone else's non working unit but in good cosmetic condition. I see there is a "for parts or not working" sale on ebay. Price seems kind of high for a non-working unit, but you could make an offer. Also you could put in a search on ebay for what you are looking and allow email notifications. It might take some time though. Probably best just to get a new charger.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •