Triple XM-L DIY Canister Light

kymteo

Newly Enlightened
Hi all. I'm new here but I've been reading around the forums quite a bit researching and thinking about building my own canister dive light. Would really appreciate some help as I'm a real noob when it comes to electronics and stuff.

Looking at this cheap dive light from ebay:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261244474691?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

It claims that it can produce 4000 lumens. Knowing that it's powered by 3 XM-L emitters, it seems highly unlikely that it possible. Further, running only on 2x3.7v 3000mAh batteries, it is impossible to have any decent run time at that brightness.

Thus, I am thinking of buying it and modding it into a cannister light. I suspect that what is limiting this light will be the driver and was just wondering if there's any driver that you guys can recommend for this light. I've been looking at this:
http://www.taskled.com/techb3flex.shtml

And powering it with 6x18650 batteries connected with 3 in series to produce 11.1 v and then 2 of these in parallel to produce a burn time of about 2.1 hours. As I said, not even sure if my calculations are correct as I'm a real noob when it comes to electronics so would really appreciate some help.

Thanks!!

Codiak

Enlightened
Hi all. I'm new here but I've been reading around the forums quite a bit researching and thinking about building my own canister dive light. Would really appreciate some help as I'm a real noob when it comes to electronics and stuff.

Looking at this cheap dive light from ebay:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261244474691?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

It claims that it can produce 4000 lumens. Knowing that it's powered by 3 XM-L emitters, it seems highly unlikely that it possible. Further, running only on 2x3.7v 3000mAh batteries, it is impossible to have any decent run time at that brightness.