T12 36 Inch replacement light?

Caoster

Newly Enlightened
I'm pretty new at this.

I noticed one of my florescent lights in my kitchen was going out. I tried replacing the bulbs, but no luck . It seems the ballast is going. I tried searching around on google and discovered that T12 lights have been banned?!

So now I need to find a replacement.

My current lights in my kitchen are T12 36in dual bulb lights, running 6500k bulbs. I have 4 of them. What is the current recommended replacement for this type of light?

I see some people recommend switching to a T5, but I haven't been able to find a good dual bulb 36in T5 suitable for mounting and replacing.

Is there something else I could consider?

MattPete

Newly Enlightened
I'm no expert, but I think T8s are significantly cheaper than T5s, and any advantage T5s have over T8s are pretty small.

I'm in a similar situation: lots of shop lights in my basement, and they are all T12. It looks like my options will be to either buy a new ballast and rewire the fixtures for T8s, or buy whole new T8 fixtures after the bulbs burn out.

MattPete

Newly Enlightened
An alternative might be to cut the ballasts out all together, and run LED tubes.

Sure would make life simpler, but it would be much more expensive.

From the Orange store:

$15 - 1 two-lamp ballast (Phillips)
$20 - 2 Phillips 36-inch T8 bulbs
---------------------------------------
$35 - total cost (excluding your labor)

or

$92 ($184 for 4) Sylvania 15-watt bulbs (I think you need to rip out the ballast and rewire)

The Sylvania led bulbs have half the lumens, but are downward firing, which should partially make up for the loss

jhellwig

Newly Enlightened