Need help with Cree XML voltage/amperage from 5v source

Z-Ya Later

Newly Enlightened
Hi Everyone,

I'm a first time poster although I have lurked from time to time ;)

I have looked thru the stickies and did do some searches but couldn't find the answer to my question.

I'm new to LEDs but familiar with component level electronics. I really have several questions and would appreciate any guidance from the guru's.

My Config:

I have two bike headlights that I want to hook up on my electric scooter. Here's a link to the lights and a link to the LED specs. The headlights each have a Cree XML LED and driver/switch built into the housing/heatsink. Each light is powered by a 8800 mAh, 3.7V Li-ion battery pack wired to the unit. The pack is composed of four 18650 cells in parallel. The battery can vary from 3.5 volt dead to 4.2 volts fully charged.

The lights work just fine in this config but it's a pita to keep charging the small batteries. So i figured my electric scooter has a 48V 10ah battery pack, i'll just connect the lights to that.

I installed a DC voltage converter to take the 48 volts down to 5 volts, 5 amps and connected the lights to this power source. The lights lit up but the housing/heatsink got very hot very quickly and the lights then went out. I opened the housing/heatsink and discovered that the thin wires from the LED driver to the LED had melted. I soldered on new wires, connected the lights to the original battery packs and they work fine so it looks like i dodged a bullet there.

So i figure i'm feeding the lights to much voltage.

I did the LED load calcs and it looks like if I add a 1 ohm, 10 watt resister to the negative leg of each light I will get to 3.1 Fv at 1500 mA. This seems excessive to have two huge resisters when the lights ran fine with the 4.2 volt batteries. (Keep on mind the load calcs are for a bare LED and do not take into account the driver built into the housing.)