Questions on premium headlight bulbs, and impressions of strandard Flosser halogens

ronniepudding

Enlightened
I have a 1998 Volvo S70, and have been using Sylvania Xtravision H7 bulbs for a while now with good results. There is no reason I've been using them other than convenience (Sylvania is what's for sale in the Walmarts and AutoZones around here). I had a headlight bulb burn out today, and picked up a pair of Xtravisions, and also a "standard" Sylvania H7 bulb as a spare. For giggles, I replaced the burned out bulb with the new standard bulb, and noticed that it was brighter than the old Xtravision in the other lamp. (Those of you that have more experience will say "well duh, the old bulb is worn out so of course it's dimmer...", but I'm just learning here so have patience with me). This got me to thinking about premium bulbs and prompted some research. Following that initial research, I have a few questions for the collective wisdom of the forum:

1) Is there a generally applicable rate of degredation of output for a halogen automotive bulb, and does the loss happen a) gradually and consistently throughout the life of the bulb, or b) more at the beginning of the bulb life, or c) does the degredation accelerate at the end of the bulb's life?
2) Presuming I'm going to stick with 55 watt low-beam bulbs, stock wiring, etc., -- is there a widely-preferred midrange "premium" bulb model that offers the most bang for the buck? (I'm not interested in blue-filtered bulbs like silverstars, and I draw the line at around $20 per bulb.)
3) In the standard/budget category, does anyone have experience with Flosser H7 bulbs? They are the "house" bulb for a Volvo parts retailer that I trust, but I haven't had luck finding reviews online. I see these bulbs sold by Amazon for ~$7 each ($70 for a box of 10), which is cheaper than the standard Sylvanias I've been buying in the big box stores, and makes them tempting.

Thanks for your help.

-Virgil-

Flashaholic