DIY MAG D Mod LED

luppolone

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

I'm starting this thread because i want to build a diving torch modifing a MAGLITE 2-cell (or maybe 3) D, with LED emitters.
I am new to this kinds of mods and i need some clarifications and advices.
My idea is to buy a MAGLITE 2 or 3 cell D and change the emitter with a CREE XM-L2 U2 led (or another one if you say that is not a good idea), so i need a reflector, a driver, a battery pack, a switch and an heatsink. I have access to all tools needed to modify the housing of the MAG, but i have some question regarding the circuitry that i need to build-up.

Let's say that i want to have a 3 mode (high, med, low) driver, that control single XM-L2 U2 running for two hours at full stroke:

1) How many batteries i need? I've thought to use 2 32650 6000mAh. Is it wrong?
2) Is a single XM-L2 U2 LED enough for normal conditions or it is better to move to 3 LEDs?
2) Which driver is the best for this application?
3) Which is the best solution for the switch (piezo or click)? (i will dive not too deep, let's say 40m at best)
4) Which is the right reflector/lense for a narrow flood with a little bit of spill?
5) Shall i change the lense thickness due to pressure resistance?

That's all for now, as thigs becomes more clear i'll post some more questions about circuitry (temperature cut off, parallel/series batteries...)

Thanks to everybody for this amazing forum, i've learned A LOT of things...

Packhorse

Flashlight Enthusiast
Mag mods are great. But there are plenty of hand held dive lights available that already use XMLs that would be an easy mod for a can light. DIV05 is one.

1. If they truly are 6000mah then you should get 5-6 hours run time. IF!