How do I keep my New Lathe rust free !??!??!

jtice

Flashaholic
I have a brand spanking new Lathe sitting in my garage. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
Problem is, its a VERY damp garage. I cleaned the lathe up really well when I first got it, taking off all that thick red grease.
i am going to use white lithium grease on it tonight.

Heres my problem. After just a couple days, as I expected, the chuck already has a slight hint of rust on it !!!!!!!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ooo.gif
Is there a special oil, spray, etc. that I can keep on it to keep it from rusting up?

My drillpress is COMPLETELY RED. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

Thanks alot guys.
I want my precious to stay, "new".

lambda

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yes, wipe it down with WD40 to prevent rust.

A better solution is bring it in the house where the humidity isn't so bad. Just tell the wife your boss requires you to keep a lathe in the house....

Nerd

Flashlight Enthusiast
Uh, I've no experience in this and am probably talking crap, but why don't you spray your whole lathe with some spray paint or something? There is some sort of transparent paint, something like laquer?

JohnK

Flashlight Enthusiast
WD-40 displaces water, but doesn't clean, or contain anti-rust properties nor lubrication.

Standard Break Free has worked for me in some unbelievably bad conditions with firearms, knifes, tools, etc.

My garage has a dryer venting into it, and my tools survive in the terribly moist conditions there.

IlluminatingBikr

Flashlight Enthusiast
How about a de-humidifier?

Congratulations on your new lathe ticey! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

robk

Enlightened