Travel sized multi chemistry charger

Bicycleflyer

Enlightened
I am an airline pilot that does a lot of international travel. I spend 20 days of the month living out of my suitcase. So space is in my baggage is minimal. I am looking for a charger that can charge AA, AAA NiMh and 14500, 16340, 18650 Li Ion batteries. USB power is preferred, but a standard AC cord is acceptable so long as it does not have that "brick" on it. It also must be compact.

At present I am using two chargers. A Sanyo USB charger for the NiMh batteries and an Xtar MP1S USB charger for the Li Ion batteries. The combo works ok and is more compact than the Nitecore i2 that I also have. But I cannot help but wonder if there is a better way.

The Xtar XP1 hummingbird appeals to me. If it would charge 18650s I would have pulled the trigger already. I still may get one.

So tell me folks, is there a better way, or am I doing about about as good as present technology allows.

ChrisGarrett

Flashlight Enthusiast
I was guessing NC i2 v2 as I was scrolling down, but also thinking about the Sanyo USB and Xtar chargers, because of their small footprint. I travel with a LC BC-700 and/or Xtar WP2 II charger, for my NiMH/Li-Ion needs and those together take up more room than a NC i2.

Right now, I think that you've got it correct and you're using good quality chargers and not some cheap 'all-in-wonder' junker.

Chris

HKJ

Flashaholic
What about replacing the MP1 with a Xtar MC1 (Review in a few weeks), it can fit 16340 to 26650, but it only has one current (0.5A). It is a very compact charger.
It is difficult to find good chargers that does both NiMH and LiIon.

NutSAK

Flashlight Enthusiast
All-in-ones are nearly always going to be a compromise in performance. I use the cottonpicker Li-Ion charger and a Sanyo Eneloop USB charger for travel. Actually, I carry them with me every day. I think the combo is about as good as you'll find, considering performance and ease of carry.

Bicycleflyer

Enlightened