Simple question about LEDs and resistors

Ghadames

Newly Enlightened
First, I want to state that I'm not an electrician and that I don't know much about electricity.

I recently bought these battery operated led lights:
http://www.adafruit.com/products/1398

I want to cut the strand and keep only 16 leds. I want to power up the 16 leds with the two cr1220 batteries without using the controller. So the 16 leds would only be attached to the batteries.

My question: Would I need any sort of resistor in order not to harm the leds? I couldn't find any resistor inside the controller, so I'm not sure if it's needed.

I don't know any technical information besides what's posted on the website.

Hope it makes sense!

RetroTechie

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF, Ghadames! :wave:

You can see there's only 2 wires running along the length of the string. Given the low voltage, the LEDs won't be in series. Which means there's basically just one voltage (due to wire resistance, slightly lower at the end vs. at the beginning of the string).

Which means that each LED will have an internal current-limiting component, or there's a resistor placed close to each LED. Probably visible to the naked eye, but internal or external resistor on each LED, isn't very interesting here. :)

First thing would be to measure in what range that "string voltage" is. Perhaps easiest would be to disassemble that 'controller' just far enough that it can be operated, with internal wiring accessible to do measurements. Then insert batteries, switch on, and measure between the outgoing wires what voltage goes into the string.

Probably you'll find that 'controller' is little more than a glorified switch + battery holder. At best it might have some electronics to reduce 2x battery voltage to something suitable for the string (probably somewhere in 3-4V range). Or does it actually allow changing the LEDs' brightness?