18650 voltage

jazavac

Newly Enlightened
Hi to all.
I am a complete newb when it comes to flashlights and batteries, so I have a newb question. I have a Nitecore p12 flashlight, powered by Nitecore NL183 18650 2300 mAh battery. The flashlight has a voltage indicator, which flashes every 2 seconds when the power is about 50%, and blinks rapidly when the power is low. It can also show the voltage accurate to 0.1 volts. I have read somewhere that an 18650 batteries should be recharged when they drop to 3.6V. My battery currently reads out 3.6V, and the indicator on the flashlight is blinking every two seconds, meaning it is on about 50% power.
I'm a bit confused. Should I recharge now, or wait until the indicator shows that the power is low?
Also, as the voltage drops, does the battery "life" drop, or the power of the output (lumens), or both?

I also have an Olight s15 running on a Trustfire 14500 battery. The flashlight does not have a voltage indicator, so I recharge the batteries when the light emmission stops. Is this wrong? Is there a difference how 18650s and 14500s should be treated?

Thanks.

ven

Flashaholic
Hi there,a 3.7v cell is around 40% charged at 3.7v,fully charged at 4.2v(100%)

So nothing to worry,yes can be a little confusing,have a read up on here via search for further details.

Not letting cells drop too low is good practice,so when showing 3.7v top them back off,this also increases life of the cells rather than deep charging from 3.0v for example.

Reg the s15,trustfire are not the best cells for consistency,some are ok,others not so,either way know when your light will stop.Learn to top off cell before this happens

Example..........2hrs use the light wont work,the voltage maybe 3.0v=not good for cell long term
So after 1.5hrs charge cell.

If not sure and used irregular then get into a habit of topping cell off after use.