Charger question

SM83

Newly Enlightened
Yes, I am a newbie with this. I am thinking about buying rechargeable batteries for my e35(18650). Now I understand the dangers of rechargeable batteries. Ive read that we must be on top of voltages and times during charging. Now chargers like the nitecore i4 say they shut off after charging is complete. How safe are these and what kind of charging timeframe should I expect?

TEEJ

Flashaholic
Yes, I am a newbie with this. I am thinking about buying rechargeable batteries for my e35(18650). Now I understand the dangers of rechargeable batteries. Ive read that we must be on top of voltages and times during charging. Now chargers like the nitecore i4 say they shut off after charging is complete. How safe are these and what kind of charging timeframe should I expect?

Almost all the decent chargers follow an charging algorithm that stops adding charge after they reach the termination point.

The TIME to charge depends on the mah of the 18650 (A 3400 mah 18650 will take longer than a 2600 mah 18650, and so forth...), as well as how low you drained them before putting them on the charger (You can top off Li-ions, they don't have a "memory effect", etc....and the DEEPER you discharge them, the more wear and tear on the cell, and, the longer the recharge time.)

Sometimes they max out on the total juice, so charging more cells can be slower than charging one, etc....so the specific charger, with specific cells, can result in variable performance/charge times.

Figure a few hours to recharge... ~ 2 - 3 if under faster conditions, ~ 3 - 8 under slower conditions...for most of the chargers you might be looking at, and, cell combos.

Deadly_Pooh_Bear

Newly Enlightened
Almost all the decent chargers follow an charging algorithm that stops adding charge after they reach the termination point.