Gladius Hyper-Red upgrade

Moonshadow

Enlightened
This weekend I completed my latest project. For a while I've been wanting to try a red LED in a Gladius. I think this will make an ideal light for astronomy with the instant adjustability and the very low low.

I've upgraded a couple before with and XP-G and an XM-L:

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?272611-XP-G-modded-Gladius

As mentioned in the previous thread, it helps to get everything organised before you start:

If you value your sanity, work over a tray or other receptacle to catch any bits (like that ballbearing) that fall out as you dismantle the head. Remove the tailcap and batteries before you start. Do not replace these until after you have re-assembled everything and retightened the head, or you will push the driver board and tube with the ribbon cables out of the head.

This is my first attempt at a coloured LED upgrade.

Osram on star:
0725_OsramStar.jpg

This is the 660nm Hyper-Red Osram, which produces a deeper red than usual, much better for dark adaptation.

Bezel removed:
0734_BezelRemoved.jpg

The bezel is held on by a small amount of threadlocking compound. A good twist with a strap wrench is all that's needed to crack it open - there is no need to heat. Note the small ball-bearing that fits into the small circular recess between the threads and the first brass piece: make sure you work over a tray or something to catch this as it falls out.

Reflector assembly detached:
0736_ReflectorOff.jpg

Notice the rubber 'O' ring that sits behind the reflector assembly. When re-assembling, move this to the front so that the reflector sits further back. This ensures that the Osram LED sits at the correct height in the reflector for good focus.

Old and new LED stars:
0740_OldNewLED.jpg

Wires to old star desoldered:
0742_DesolderOldStar.jpg

Pill out:
0743_OldStarOut.jpg