18650 Overcharge? Need input please...

Noclue

Newly Enlightened
Hi,

I am a newbie and was hoping for some guidance. I just purchased a Nitecore D4 charger to supplement my D2 charger. I had some Olight 3400 18650s that I used for a few minutes in a Thrunite TN30. After use, I tried to "Top them off" in the new D4 charger. I returned about an hour later and it was still showing as charging, which was strange since they had barely been used. To double check, I placed them in my D2, which immediately displayed a Finished Charge message. I then placed them back in the D4 to double check and the D4 continued to try to charge them.

I was then concerned that the D4 was defective and may have overcharged the Olight batteries. They are protected (and way too big to be called 18650, but thats a different issue). I checked the batteries with a cheap multimeter I have and they are showing 4.15v. Would you say these batteries are still OK to use? I definitely plan on returning the D4, but wasn't sure if I should be concerned with the cells.

Any feedback is appreciated.

Thanks!
Rob

ven

Flashaholic
Hi Rob
Reg the cells-The last part of the charge is the longest iirc,basically 4.15v is 95% charged,think positive as will help cell life a little more...........

So yes fine to use imo

mcnair55

Flashlight Enthusiast
I just follow the instructions and do not complicate my hobby unlike others.I charge in the D4 till the light stops flashing and none of this nonsense of topping them up as i never read that in any instruction book.

If you enjoy messing start charging the big boys radio control model batteries where you really can cause severe distress to your batteries and wallet.

consitter

Newly Enlightened
If this question has been asked repeatedly, please excuse my ignorance.

How long will a full battery hold a charge if unused? Thanks for any help.

Sent from my iPhone using Candlepowerforums

RCTPAVUK

Newly Enlightened