1st Attempt at an UPGRADE - TrustFire TR -D014 - 7x CREE XML-2 T6

EFMax

Newly Enlightened
UPGRADE: TrustFire TR-D014 7xCree XM-L2 T6 4-Mode 3000LM Bicycle Light

This is my first attempt at upgrading what is already a quite reasonable light system. Having read reviews by other more experience modders on this light, I was interested in reviews that suggested that the light had upgrade potential because it was under-driven.
1656402_10203104147747688_193181437553864325_n.jpg

So I bought not one but three. One to mess around with/get it wrong/mess up/throw away: One to leave as standard: One to upgrade.; the upgrade is with much thanks for his help "George at Task LED" and MK96 on MTBR for his help as well.

I have picked this light apart and although initially, I upgraded the wiring, in the final version, I left it the same because the cable used was able to handle the amps without over-heating or give cause for concern. I tried my best to make sure the new board was as connected to the chassis as possible for the best heat transfer.

The standard light on high, gets warm when stationary but the upgrade gets HOT. Out on the road, the upgrade is fine as long as there is a passing wind. Photos were done down by the river and it was cold so the unit stayed cool.

I fitted a HBFlex board so as I could drive the lamp at the full 3amps and bought a new 16.8v Li-Po batteries (5500mAh) pack from my local Hobby Store.

The following four images were all taken at F4 @ 6secs.. and yes the images could have been better but I just wanted to see just what 7x XML-2 T6's at full chat would be like.. I will leave you to make up your own mind. Both lights were set up, one on top of the other on the front of my bike which was supported by a bench. The camera is about 2ft to the left of the bike and that reflective strip on the tree ahead is 100ft (30m) away.

IMAGE 1: Control shot, everything is switched off = Lens@21mm - F4@6secs..
10639644_10203104144187599_2170202302739741180_n.jpg