Solarforce S2200 vs Thrunite TN30?

hhmoore

Newly Enlightened
The S2200 recently caught my attention, and I've been looking for info on how it compares to the TN30 in practical function. I'm relatively new to lights; so the most of the technical stuff is over my head. Anybody got experience with both and willing to share your thoughts?

varaldarade

Newly Enlightened
I own the S2200 but have no experience with the TN30. I use the S2200 for camping in the middle of no where in Canada. Its as bright as a headlight and I use it as a security light at night to scope out potential grizzly bears and cougars from my rooftop tent on my Land Cruiser if I hear noises at night or need to go down the ladder to go to the can. It is very well built and absurdly bright. I think it is a steal at the price solarforcesales sells it for. I always have a backup and find the SF M35 thrower very good as well. Seems like you can get them both for the price of the TN30. It is a battery hog, suggest 18650s and not CR123s for cost reasons.

Fusion_m8

Flashlight Enthusiast
One of the things you need to add in your post is what you will be using the light for. Is it for general home duties? A light to put in your glovebox? Law Enforcement/Military? Camping? Caving? Does it need specific accessories like filters, weapon mounts etc...

The S2200 and TN30 are both very good lights manufactured to high standards. Its like trying to ask if Lexus is better than Infiniti or vice versa. Can't go wrong with either really. Just boils down to personal taste and application.