Review of Ambient Weather BC-2000 Charger/Analyzer

richard13

Newly Enlightened
Hello all!

Here is my review of the Ambient Weather BC-2000 battery charger/analyzer. It is not a full blown in-depth, lab tested, guns blazing review, just my own observations using the unit. I am still new to this so, if I missed something fundemental to evaluation, constructive feedback is welcome.

I have had this charger for about two weeks and have probably spent way too much time thinking about batteries and charging them in that time than I really care to. :) I pulled out all but a few of the rechargeable batteries from my various devices. One thing I noticed is that Duracell really has had many different looking batteries over the years. I count 5 different looking cells in my small collection of about 20. They are all AA batteries. The AAA I have are in infrequently used devices and I have never had to recharge them, believe it or not.

Anyway, here goes...

Modes

• Charge
  • Discharge
  • Charge Test
  • Refresh
  • Quick Test

The manual gives just basic information with some explanation of how things work and why they are the way they are. There was quite a bit of trial and error on my part before I could figure out how to effectively use the unit. For instance, I didn't realize there were rest periods in between charge/discharge cycles using Refresh mode. I had no idea what the unit was doing really. Even today I am guessing at some things.

Charge/Discharge modes are pretty much self-explanatory

Charge Test mode can be used to find out the capacity of a battery (in mAh shown after discharge part of the cycle). It charges, discharges, then it charges one more time to finish.