silent simple EDC with NO strobe or blinking

endorphin71

Newly Enlightened
This is my first post so I'd like to thank everyone who has already helped me, as I have browsed through the detailed reviews and commentaries on this forum.

This is my first time looking to buy a "proper" flashlight. I don't do too much camping, though I enjoy hillwalking. However, I will be visiting some caves in a couple of months, so I thought I should be prepared. Also, I need something better for around the house when the power goes out. Currently I have a small generic flash I use for locating stuff in my bag/rucksack. It's useless for everything else.

I have two special requirements. Though I have read through a lot of reviews, these are not priorities for most people and so rarely get mentioned.

FIRST: No strobe or blinking of any kind. I am photosensitive. I do not want a strobe that I can even accidentally activate.

SECOND: Completely silent operation. I enjoy field recording and do not want any clicking sounds on recordings I might make.

Now the general features I would like.

Operation on standard rechargeable AA or AAA. I never use disposables and already have a conditioned recharger for standard cells. I have read of some lights that have a barrel too narrow for Sanyo Eneloops (for example). That would suck.

Compact size -- one or two batteries. 4" or so.

An LED lamp with wide flood for general use, though it would be amazing if I could change the flood between wide and narrow. I do not need an especially long throw. Consistency of the beam is more important to me.

Brightness up to 150-200 lumens, but also low illumination for discrete use. Two or three settings plenty (low / med / high). I want a simple light that is easy to operate, with no special modes.

Memory recall of the last setting. If I set the beam on low I want it on low the next time I turn on the light.