LED fiberoptic medical lightsource

planebuilder

Newly Enlightened
Hi, this is my first time here. I have an old fiber-optic light source for a portable medical microscope. It uses an Osram xenophot 64634 HLX EFR 15V 150W GZ6.35 base bulb. The bulbs are expensive, fragile, and don't last long. The socket for the base pins burn out and corrode from heat. The source has a heavy transformer in it and so is awkward to move. I was wondering if there are LED components I could assemble to replace this light source and have comparable light. It also needs to be dimmable.
Thanks for any advice.

SemiMan

Banned
Hi, this is my first time here. I have an old fiber-optic light source for a portable medical microscope. It uses an Osram xenophot 64634 HLX EFR 15V 150W GZ6.35 base bulb. The bulbs are expensive, fragile, and don't last long. The socket for the base pins burn out and corrode from heat. The source has a heavy transformer in it and so is awkward to move. I was wondering if there are LED components I could assemble to replace this light source and have comparable light. It also needs to be dimmable.
Thanks for any advice.

That bulb will be about 2500-3000 lumens ....essentially an MR16.

Coupling efficiency is likely on the low side, but that gives you a give start for how many lumens to start with. Without knowing the exact optics it's tough to know exactly what to suggest, but I expect you have a fairly simple setup with a lens in front of the bulb to concentrate on the bundle. You want fairly smooth illumination across the bundle, so you do end up throwing away light.

I expect you have about a 6mm bundle as would be typical for those lights.