Help an unqualified light buyer out please

FLfuzz

Newly Enlightened
Hello, Im contacting you because of your extensive knowledge on flashlights. I am a law enforcement officer in South Florida moving to night patrols and will be needing several nice flashlights for some of our rural areas. To be honest i'm not familiar with all the different technologies and features of lights so I was hoping you guys could help me make a selection.

I would like to have at least two lights (different from each other is alright) that are more compact in size similar to the 'Fenix PD35 2014 960 lumens XM-L2 U2 LED Tactical Flashlight' and the 'Streamlight 88040 ProTAC HL High Lumen Professional Tactical Light'...... Those are the two I stumbled upon in my research. Im looking for a few things, and I know this is a complete naive way to put this, but; bright, long beam (or adjustable), compact, easy battery exchange (AAA,AA, ect preferred, not necessary)...

These lights will be used nightly so the battery life is going to be short regardless if they have a special battery or not, really. But if there's a light with a battery out there that has an easy charge system for in my car that would be great too. That's what makes the AAA and AA batteries nice, just buying a whole pack or stopping at a gas station if needed....Lots of the old timers on the shift still use the big long maglights, or just whatever they find at walmart. But since its really one of the most used tools I'll be needing at night I want some advice from people who know what they're talking about when it comes to lights.

Thanks,
FLfuzz

reppans

Flashlight Enthusiast
If you want stay around that size, you're looking at 1 or 2 AA light which won't have as much power as the 2CR123 lights you mention. As a LEO, I suspect you will want throw (for distance) and a tactical forward momentary clicky.