The Fenix-Store        
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 129

Thread: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

  1. #1
    Flashaholic* 880arm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Wildlands of Western Kentucky
    Posts
    1,752

    Default New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    I was browsing around the SureFire website and noticed they had added the new P2X Fury with Intellibeam (Link).

    I saw a couple of these at SHOT Show and they are pretty slick. Basically there are able to measure the amount of light being reflected back and can drop output accordingly to reduce glare to the user. In the samples I saw, this was accomplished via a small tube that stuck through the reflector and reached out to the lens.


    During a media demo the SureFire rep turned the light on and walked toward a wall about 15 feet away. Even though he approached within a few inches of the wall, the beam reflected off the wall remained constant. This feature is not unique but it's the smoothest version I have observed so far. Constant output is also available for times the dimming feature is not needed or desired.

  2. #2
    Flashaholic* 880arm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Wildlands of Western Kentucky
    Posts
    1,752

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    You can see Andrew from SureFire talk about the P2X w/ Intellibeam at the 7:30 mark in my video from SHOT Show. Although he shows how it works, what is shown in the video really doesn't do it justice.

  3. #3

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Hey, the knurling is back!

    edited: here's the youtube link that starts right when he talks about the Fury IB.

    https://youtu.be/dLBumf_m8gg?t=7m31s
    Last edited by cland72; 05-27-2015 at 10:06 PM.

  4. #4
    Flashaholic* 880arm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Wildlands of Western Kentucky
    Posts
    1,752

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by cland72 View Post
    Hey, the knurling is back!
    Yes it is! Thanks for the revised link. I meant to do that last night but it was past my bedtime and I messed it up

  5. #5
    *Flashaholic* Str8stroke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    On The Black Pearl
    Posts
    5,009

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    cland72, yes Knurling is back. Albeit a small amount of it. Looks like the same that was on the Peacekeeper. I must admit, I really like the Peacekeeper. I am surprised we don't see more talk about it. Overall, it is a great light. I picked one up off the bay for less than $100, the fellow sold it cheap because he said, "None of his friends had a charger for this special battery". LOL Bless his little heart!

    Intellibeam...interesting.... But haven't we seen this somewhere before?? Nitecore SENS Series?? Wonder how this will play out in courts, assuming Nitecore was first & patented their technology?? Its possible we could be some patent role reversal here?

    In the end, it is good to see SF changing things up. Hope its not a gimmicky feature. I could see this being rather useful.

    It solves my issue with using the Peacekeeper around the house. Not having a way to turn it on in low is a bummer. When you just want to use it for a close up task you have to cycle through the eye blazing high mode.

    Thanks 880arm.

  6. #6
    Flashaholic* 880arm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Wildlands of Western Kentucky
    Posts
    1,752

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    I have a LED Lenser headlamp that functions similarly and I think I've seen another brand of headlamp that does the same thing (Princeton Tech maybe?). The difference between this and the LED Lenser is the number of levels. Where my headlamp has 3 or 4 distinct output levels, the sample of the Fury Intellibeam had something like 127 or 255. The net effect was the perceived brightness pretty much remained constant as it came closer to another object. I look forward to trying one of these in the real world.

    I think the Nitecore you mentioned varied output based upon angle rather than reflected light.

  7. #7

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    The Petzl Nao headlamp uses a similar technology.
    Hello darkness my old friend,
    I've come to talk with you again...
    I liked neutral tints before they were cool.

  8. #8
    *Flashaholic* pjandyho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,498

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Just saw this on Surefire's website today and immediately did a search to see if anyone posted about it here.

    My opinion? On first look it looks gimmicky, but when I thought about it further, this really made sense. I like my current Fury, but there are times where I felt the 15 lumens is too low and 500 lumens too high. If this new Intellibeam technology really works, it's gonna solve the problem I faced with the Fury. Keen to see how this will progress!

    I don't think this light infringes Nitecore's design. Nitecore's SENS technology uses motion based sensor to sense the angle of the light. Point down and it goes low, point up and it goes high. Not sure if they made further changes to the technology but at least that was what I last gathered. Kind of silly if you ask me because someone might be standing on the edge of a cliff and shining downwards only to have the light cut output on its own.

    For this new Fury, it made sense. Just like using a camera's photometric sensor, it tells the Fury if there is too much light reflected back and the Fury's onboard chip will adjust the output accordingly. I am guessing that for this to work, the processor built into the Fury must be working non-stop to keep gathering light reflectance info. Would this consume more power? Will it work seamlessly? Will it always be getting the output just right, or will it cause the light to behave erratically? That is what I want to know. As someone pointed out, it is a pity that the user have no option of selecting for low output. Would be nice if there is a way to select for low output, maybe through a side switch so the user will not have to depend on the tail switch alone and thus having to cycle through it 3 times just to get to high, or maybe tail switch controls low and high and the side switch for the Intellibeam output? Just my thought.
    The love of light is the reason why I don't walk in darkness. But darkness has it's beauty...Sadly, my lights are much more beautiful!!
    Beam shots Night Trekking with HDS high CRI and McGizmo Haiku & Mule high CRI

  9. #9

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by Str8stroke View Post
    cland72,

    In the end, it is good to see SF changing things up. Hope its not a gimmicky feature. I could see this being rather useful.
    +1 on this. I traded out my Fury as my secondary duty light for my Z2 with an M61 b/c I found the Fury too bright for indoors, close up work. If anyone's curious, my primary light is a Hound Dog. Hound Dog for outside, Z2 (formerly Fury) for inside.

  10. #10
    Flashaholic R.W.D.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Jacksonville FL
    Posts
    238

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    I agree with saying the 15 500 sucks on my p2x but I'll tell you what on my p3x's its ridiculous.. You better hope you don't bump into high while using it up close because its a flashbang without a bang and it will punch your freaking retnas hard xD I have a petzel nao and I like the feature and i ve wanted a regular flashlight that worked this way so I might have to get one and see how it is.
    R.W.D.

  11. #11

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    I bought this light today, I'll see if the IB function works correctly.

    Flashaholic "Give me more lumens!" - Flashlight Addict -

  12. #12
    Flashaholic* RobertM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,473

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by DAN92 View Post
    I bought this light today, I'll see if the IB function works correctly.
    Nice! I'll be interested to read your impressions of it. In SF's video, it looks pretty neat.

  13. #13
    *Flashaholic* pjandyho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,498

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by DAN92 View Post
    I bought this light today, I'll see if the IB function works correctly.
    Cool! Would love to hear your opinions of it.
    The love of light is the reason why I don't walk in darkness. But darkness has it's beauty...Sadly, my lights are much more beautiful!!
    Beam shots Night Trekking with HDS high CRI and McGizmo Haiku & Mule high CRI

  14. #14

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    That is a really cool feature but I just can't buy one until the green tint is changed and I guess it will stay the same as long as Surefire uses the XM-L in the Fury. I've owned two and both had tint I did not like and I've searched local stores when they would let me open the box and check the tint, no luck.
    My flashlight collection HERE

  15. #15
    *Flashaholic* pjandyho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,498

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by jhc37013 View Post
    That is a really cool feature but I just can't buy one until the green tint is changed and I guess it will stay the same as long as Surefire uses the XM-L in the Fury. I've owned two and both had tint I did not like and I've searched local stores when they would let me open the box and check the tint, no luck.
    You have to be really lucky I guess. Mine was real white whereas two other pieces which I purchased on behalf of my friends had greenish tint.
    The love of light is the reason why I don't walk in darkness. But darkness has it's beauty...Sadly, my lights are much more beautiful!!
    Beam shots Night Trekking with HDS high CRI and McGizmo Haiku & Mule high CRI

  16. #16
    Flashaholic* tobrien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Georgia Highway 441
    Posts
    4,861

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by cland72 View Post
    Hey, the knurling is back!

    edited: here's the youtube link that starts right when he talks about the Fury IB.

    https://youtu.be/dLBumf_m8gg?t=7m31s
    oooh good eye on the knurling, i didn't notice that till you said it
    aka Edgar Allan Bro, Brosama Bin Liftin, Walter Crunkite, Bro Namath, Teddy Brosevelt, and the Tomahawk Crunkmissile.
    my lights - review of PrecisionWorks - that's Gucci Mane in my avatar

  17. #17
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Tigard, Orygun
    Posts
    306

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Where are these at and price? I only see one on flea bay.

  18. #18
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Muswellbrook
    Posts
    569

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by pjandyho View Post
    For this new Fury, it made sense. Just like using a camera's photometric sensor, it tells the Fury if there is too much light reflected back and the Fury's onboard chip will adjust the output accordingly. I am guessing that for this to work, the processor built into the Fury must be working non-stop to keep gathering light reflectance info. Would this consume more power? Will it work seamlessly?

    I think it would be very little power usage. My guess is that it is more of a passive effect. The light on the photo sensor, would generate a small current, that would be fed back to the driver. I think it wouldn't use significantly more power than continuously turning a magnetic ring on a light, but I could be wrong.

    The thing that concerns me, is that the tube for the sensor comes out of the reflector, and sits behind the glass. This will limit the use of a diffuser because the diffuser will scatter light back into the sensor, and lower the output. Also, if your lens gets really dirty, will it block the sensor and ramp the power right up? What about if your light is on and you put it bezel down on a hard surface, it will lower the output due to back scattering of light. What if you put it down on a soft surface, or something that may block the sensor, it could go full power.


    Its a great idea otherwise, but I would have liked the sensor not in the reflector, maybe as a separate part of the bezel
    mossyoak --> Dear God man, its your honeymoon, screw the flashlights, bring one or two and some backup batteries, and fill up all that extra room you have with condoms and alcohol.

  19. #19
    *Flashaholic* pjandyho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,498

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by tolkaze View Post
    I think it would be very little power usage. My guess is that it is more of a passive effect. The light on the photo sensor, would generate a small current, that would be fed back to the driver. I think it wouldn't use significantly more power than continuously turning a magnetic ring on a light, but I could be wrong.

    The thing that concerns me, is that the tube for the sensor comes out of the reflector, and sits behind the glass. This will limit the use of a diffuser because the diffuser will scatter light back into the sensor, and lower the output. Also, if your lens gets really dirty, will it block the sensor and ramp the power right up? What about if your light is on and you put it bezel down on a hard surface, it will lower the output due to back scattering of light. What if you put it down on a soft surface, or something that may block the sensor, it could go full power.


    Its a great idea otherwise, but I would have liked the sensor not in the reflector, maybe as a separate part of the bezel
    I am sure this is very much an experimental technology that Surefire is coming up with. We probably won't know what issues the users will face until some time of ownership. Your concerns are legit and that is something worth noting. Maybe Surefire did not intend for this light to be put in a rough or combat type situation?
    The love of light is the reason why I don't walk in darkness. But darkness has it's beauty...Sadly, my lights are much more beautiful!!
    Beam shots Night Trekking with HDS high CRI and McGizmo Haiku & Mule high CRI

  20. #20
    *Flashaholic* pjandyho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,498

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    I was on the Bay and saw a few sold. I don't suppose some of the buyers are from here? Any views and thoughts?

    880arms, will you by any chance be doing a review of it?
    The love of light is the reason why I don't walk in darkness. But darkness has it's beauty...Sadly, my lights are much more beautiful!!
    Beam shots Night Trekking with HDS high CRI and McGizmo Haiku & Mule high CRI

  21. #21

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Today I received my Surefire P2X Fury IntelliBeam, after several tries, the automatic adjustment system of the brightness works correctly.



    For info', the tint is greenish.
    Last edited by DAN92; 06-28-2015 at 07:27 AM. Reason: Picture

    Flashaholic "Give me more lumens!" - Flashlight Addict -

  22. #22

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by pjandyho View Post
    Maybe Surefire did not intend for this light to be put in a rough or combat type situation?
    ...so if you shine a bright light at the intellibeam, does it go low? Not sure that's a good idea for a military light.

  23. #23

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by DAN92 View Post
    Today I received my Surefire P2X Fury IntelliBeam, after several tries, the automatic adjustment system of the brightness works correctly.

    For info', the tint is greenish.
    What do you mean by "after several tries"?
    Last edited by cland72; 06-26-2015 at 08:15 AM.

  24. #24

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by cland72 View Post
    What do you mean by "after several tries"?
    Sorry for the confusion, the functioning is correct after having "tested" several times.
    Last edited by DAN92; 06-25-2015 at 05:06 PM.

    Flashaholic "Give me more lumens!" - Flashlight Addict -

  25. #25
    *Flashaholic* pjandyho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    5,498

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Hi Dan, could you confirm something that has been in my mind? Let's say you are in a dark room and you shine the light on the floor just in front of you. Does the light go direct to high output? Does it only take something very near to the light to bring down the output?
    The love of light is the reason why I don't walk in darkness. But darkness has it's beauty...Sadly, my lights are much more beautiful!!
    Beam shots Night Trekking with HDS high CRI and McGizmo Haiku & Mule high CRI

  26. #26
    Flashaholic* dc38's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    On the east coast of the yoosah. In the place where the bad drivers are.
    Posts
    2,037

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/...ght&highlight=

    Crazy, isnt it? Everything from 2009 to 2012 that was discussed has come into fruition lol.
    -I am no law abiding citizen. I am merely not a lawbreaker.
    -Guilty until proven innocent.
    -If it can be conceived by humans, then it can be unravelled by humans.

  27. #27

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by pjandyho View Post
    Hi Dan, could you confirm something that has been in my mind? Let's say you are in a dark room and you shine the light on the floor just in front of you. Does the light go direct to high output? Does it only take something very near to the light to bring down the output?
    The brightness increase or decrease depending on the distance.
    Last edited by DAN92; 06-26-2015 at 09:56 AM.

    Flashaholic "Give me more lumens!" - Flashlight Addict -

  28. #28
    *Flashaholic* Str8stroke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    On The Black Pearl
    Posts
    5,009

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by jhc37013 View Post
    That is a really cool feature but I just can't buy one until the green tint is changed and I guess it will stay the same as long as Surefire uses the XM-L in the Fury. I've owned two and both had tint I did not like and I've searched local stores when they would let me open the box and check the tint, no luck.

    I concur with this statement. I guess you could try to dedome the LED? Anyone tried this on a Fury?

    I like the Intellibeam idea. It has its uses and potential users. I see no way to mod it, no way to upgrade lens, no way to add a diffuser with out messing up the system. I also like to use my lights pointed at a gallon of water when camping for mood lighting. I am guessing it would throw the photo sensor off and default on low? So, I see some positives and negatives.

  29. #29
    peter yetman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    North Norfolk UK
    Posts
    2,898

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    [QUOTE=Str8stroke;4679153]I concur with this statement. I guess you could try to dedome the LED? Anyone tried this on a Fury?

    Me, here's the link with pix.
    http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/...ive-Dedome-Mod
    P

  30. #30

    Default Re: New SureFire P2X Fury with Intellibeam

    Quote Originally Posted by DAN92 View Post
    Sorry for the confusion, the functioning is correct after having "tested" several times.
    Haha, no worries. The way I read it, it sounded like you had to mess with the light to get it to work correctly. Thanks for clarifying.

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •