Looking for a compact light with good throw

spike73

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

So a little about what I am looking for. I am an inspector that inspects multiple homes daily. This includes the interior, exterior, attic and the crawl space. I currently use a Fenix PD35 for underneath the homes and it does an amazing job. I am looking for a light that is relatively compact (can attach to my belt) and has a great amount of throw so that I can reach those cracks and crevices that are in high places and are often in direct sunlight. My company has given me a Maglite but it rarely provides enough light to reach those spots. I will still be using the Fenix for underneath so this would just be for the exterior. If I can find something that runs on an 18650 like the Fenix, that would be ideal because I have a lot of the batteries as well as a charger already.

Thank you in advance for your advice!

mdocod

Flashaholic
Armytek Viking V3 (pro or non-pro depending on your regulation preferences in max mode). At 120g empty its probably the lightest, and likely one of the smallest mini-turbo-head 1X18650 powered "throw" class flashlight on the market. The only thing close (more throw, similar weight, same body) would be the predator V3, but that IMO would likely prove to be too oriented towards throw, producing such a small bright spot with weak spill that it would not be as useful as the Viking, though I could be wrong.

Either way, direct sunlight is over 100,000 lux. Most compact "throwers" are only ~20-30K lux at 1 meter, so by the time you are out a few meters, the beam intensity is a drop in the bucket compared to the sun, so that's pointless.

If you are having a hard time seeing something in detail in direct sunlight, then what you probably need is vision correction or magnification, not more light.

WalkIntoTheLight

Flashlight Enthusiast