Sort of OT: glasses for night driving?

N8N

Flashlight Enthusiast
I know that this has been discussed previously possibly here, possibly on a Usenet group that sadly has been mostly abandoned due to trollery and the movement of most people to at least lightly moderated fora... I also know that a lot of "as seen on TV" night driving glasses are of dubious benefit.

As an added wrinkle, I wear prescription glasses but not contacts, so if I do acquire something specifically for night driving, it would have to be done through an optician, or at least someone like Zenni or Warby Parker.

The specific issue I have is glare from other motorists. I picked up a new pair of regular prescription eyeglasses yesterday; apparently that prescription was different enough from the one I've been wearing for the last five years or so that by the time I left work to go home (after dark) I had a bit of a headache going. A good portion of the drive was in bumper to bumper traffic on undivided roads, and sadly, my semi-humorous generalizations about the intelligence of Maryland drivers seem to be not that far off the mark. A shocking percentage of motorists had their brights on even though they were traveling at 5 MPH at best and were facing a similar line of oncoming traffic, a reminder flash accomplished nothing in any case. Combine that with the occasional polished metal semi trailer and by the time I got to my destination I was feeling much worse and about ready to drag the next offender out of his car and (5th amendment rights invoked.)