Improving back-up illumination

MorganM

Newly Enlightened
I've read these forums on occasion for a while and appreciate your collective level of educated sophistication and diligence to adhere to DOT standards. That said, if there's a solution to my challenge that I've not suggested below, please don't hesitate to share. I'm a total amateur in this realm!

My truck is a newer Ford F-250 and while the OEM back-up lighting is adequate, I feel it could withstand improvement. My goal is to increase rearward lighting in an inconspicuous manner- that is to say NOT mounting lights directly into or under the bumper. There are 2 pre-existing holes in the bulkhead of my truck bed(below the tailgate and above the license plate) which many folks use to mount an ID bar such as this one from Trucklite. I would like to avoid drilling holes so my initial plan was to fab a similar panel (to the Trucklite piece) using flat bar stock and into which, secure two Putco Luminix flush mount 3 LED modules. LINK

I'm not finding many LED modules that offer a shallow mounting depth comparable to the Putco which needs just .75" of depth. Unfortunately, the Putco unit's beam spread is only 15* and that seems far too narrow for reversing. Perhaps the mounting panel could spread the beam wider, if I angled it 150* in the center, but still, 15* is 15* and even at 10 feet, the beam is projecting about 3ft(??) of focused light.

Are you aware of an LED module that uses a wide beam and offers shallow mounting? I only have about 1.5" of depth with which to work before interfering with the tailgate. This Peterson lamp looks promising, but will it cast a little more light or a WHOLE LOTTA more light?

Thanks in advance!

pooneej

Newly Enlightened
Not sure if it's depth is too great for you but on my Jeep wrangler I was using a single baja designs S2 Pro in flood/work pattern that lit up area behind me pretty well.