Low Beam (LB) always on????

nanuk

Newly Enlightened
Hello, and thanks for providing a forum for specific information addressing the wonderful world of Light!
I'm a noob on this forum, but have lurked for some time on this and others.
I figured I better register as some questions are coming up that I can't find have been addressed.
I am a bit of a nut, and as I age, I demand better from my vehicles, and become less tolerant of poor design.
Light output is one of those areas I am always aware of.

[rant]
I had an opportunity recently to rent an Hyundai 2014 Elantra, while my 2002 Malibu was in the autobody shop.

I used it to commute to work one night after a snowfall, the highway was 100% snow covered.

I did not look close but I did see projector style LB housings, but don't know if they were HIDs or not... I don't think so.

What bothered me the most, was when on HB, the LB was also on.

it was so bright right in front of the vehicle, that the HBs were completely useless.
The glare was BLINDING, and the white posts that hold wildlife deterrent reflectors (like white fence posts right along the edge of the highway) along the road were not visible until they were in the beam pattern. :(

I have a 20km drive with forest on both sides, and can get a pretty good view of headlight performance.

Here's what I saw:
on LB, I could see about 2.5 seconds ahead (about 230ft / 69m)
on HB, I could see about 3 seconds ahead ( about 274ft / 83m)

This made the HBs pretty much USELESS for my drive through moose country.
The LB cutoff is too low to light any part of a moose except the legs, and some very faint vertical "things" on the highway don't register as an immediate danger.