Warm white / natural white led suggestion

brisco

Newly Enlightened
I have been doing upgrades to my flashlights for a few years now with mostly T6 and U2 led's. I'm interested now in a more natural light led upgrade. I have low lumen led flashlight that I use everyday at work. Milwaukee M18 18v really 20v when tested and M12 around 12.6 when tested. Their battery packs use 18650.

I've recently bought from aliexpress a mtg2 that specs at 18v 18.5w 1a max. I haven't been able to find specs for this led but I bought one regardless. It's specs are correct its still pretty bright and I like the colour temp but I thought it would be brighter. I don't have a way to seat lumens.

My question. Is there a better or nicer led and driver combo for my M12? I dropped a 4x T6 bike light head in onenof the M12 I have but I did this cheap and nasty with no driver. The leds are in series taking the 12 Volts and only drawing 1.2a. bright bit not exactly what I'm looking for. I only did it because I had the parts laying around to do it.

Did this drag on too long? I'm sorry.

Any suggestions please let me know where you got your parts. I usually use DX, aliexpress, fasttech.

Thanks for any help.

CelticCross74

Flashlight Enthusiast
Go XHP35 or XHP70. Both are pretty neutral/warm. As for a driver I suggest contacting Richard at Mountain Electronics. He will have all the info and likely all the parts that you need.

ven

Flashaholic
The MTG2 is a nice LED, 5000k usually and good for maybe 3500lm pushed. As CC says, the xhp70 is another good option, good for around 4500lm and available in 6000,5000 (sure i have seen in the 4000's k as well)and some hi cri now.

Out of the mtg2 and xhp70(have both in 5000k), its a tough one.............imho both excellent choices. I like the shaved/de-domed xhp70 that seems to take around 500k off and gives it a bit more reach.

For a bit brighter the xhp70 seems a little step up!