OPUS 3100-How many?

CelticCross74

Flashlight Enthusiast
Im no expert in this part of the forum but from what I have gathered the Opus has had to have been upgraded or "fixed" 3 times? There are 3 versions? Something always seems to be finicky about them?

ven

Flashaholic
Off the top of my head, 3100 v2.1/3100 v2.2/ 3100v or 3400 3.1 and dont forget the re-numbered 3400!

Off the top of my head, a fan issue , the v3.1(if i have that right) has a higher cut off when discharging from 2.8v to 3.1v although pros/cons of both imho. Neither matter to me that much as it is not too accurate and just a rough guide. I am sure manufacturers spec their low V on cells at 2.5v mainly, so now having a 3.1v cut off will not get the accuracy of the cells mah as close...............

I have had a couple of glitches over the years with xtar, not bad but odd reading or cell wont pick up. Issue with holding a charge rate which led me to getting rid of after spending quite a bit of money on usb plugs(one alone was £15).

Only issue with the opus is not really an issue, noisy fan when kicks in..............kind of part of the family now and anyone here when it sets off always asks " what the *beep* is that noise?"

So rather than fixes, i would say tweaks/updates . Mine has been solid/dependable and i have had my monies worth ......

tatasal

Flashlight Enthusiast
Off the top of my head, 3100 v2.1/3100 v2.2/ 3100v or 3400 3.1 and dont forget the re-numbered 3400!

Off the top of my head, a fan issue , the v3.1(if i have that right) has a higher cut off when discharging from 2.8v to 3.1v although pros/cons of both imho. Neither matter to me that much as it is not too accurate and just a rough guide. I am sure manufacturers spec their low V on cells at 2.5v mainly, so now having a 3.1v cut off will not get the accuracy of the cells mah as close...............