School me on UV

FDP

Newly Enlightened
I've got no experience wih UV flashlights and searched the web for a guide of some sorts. A lot of bits and pieces info, but nowhere could I find a comprehensive guide. What I would basically like to know is what wavelengths is used for what, different power outputs, etc.

staticx57

Flashlight Enthusiast
Can't give you the worlds most info, but what you do want is a 365nm up light. This is the UVA spectrum and is what you think of when you think UV or black lights. Cheap us lights typically employee 395-405nm emitters that do not properly fluoresce objects like a proper light will.

a good starter UV light is the convoy s2+ 365nm

FDP

Newly Enlightened
Thanks. My noob understanding is that different types of objects (bugs, body fluids, currency markings, etc.) all fluoresce at different wavelengths. Is this correct?

Many suppliers advertise 3Watt or 5Watt for example. Is this the range (throw) equivalent of normal lights?

Lexel

Enlightened
One pf the best brands for UV LEDs is Nichia, the 365nm emits almost no visible light and has a very good efficiency

the Convoy with 3W Nichia is really good the LED is rated to radiate 780mW of 365nm UV

It can make things light up no other cheap UV LED can do, of course there are some other brands of good UV LEDs

file.php

FDP

Newly Enlightened
Ok, slowly learning.

On your second point: does this mean that 780mW of the 3W is at 365nm? Basically an efficiency?

From the spectrum graphs it appears that visible light starts at around 400nm. Would a 395nm light emit some visible light already or is it a sharp changeover to visible at exactly 400?

Timothybil

Flashlight Enthusiast
Ok, slowly learning.

From the spectrum graphs it appears that visible light starts at around 400nm. Would a 395nm light emit some visible light already or is it a sharp changeover to visible at exactly 400?