To pulse or not to pulse?...and others...

papasan

Enlightened
so, like alot of people that find there way here, i'm fairly new at electronics in general and LEDs in particular. and so, what i'm trying to do is make the ultimate cicuit (aren't we all?) and a little help may make it alot easier. i'm interested mostly in the white nichia type leds (3.6@20ma). i'm extremely interested in effieciency (half the reason to use LEDs) which the few helpful books i've read parts of talk nothing about. it seems that one nichia will run just fine off of a 3D power supply (fresh ones, ~4.5v) with no resistors, so i plan to use that so i won't have to use any power sucking voltage limiting resistors.

to pulse or not to pulse (maybe oscillate is a better term)? is this more effiecient in the end? don't you have to pulse way above what you would feed a constant circuit, plus you have to feed the circuit. so does it work out better (less power used) in the end to get the same light?

and a question about diming. just a potentiameter or rheostat in-line is a big power drain (if not fully open), yeah? what about a pot with a transistor control, does this limit the drainage somehow? i feel for efficiency's sake you need to have a dimmer circuit in there (why put out 8 candelas when 4 will do?) but i want to waste as little power doing it as i am able.

so if i put both of these together into Oddone's 555-based curcuit i would assume that this would be more efficient than these two functions seperated out.

after i get this part going i want to get into the step-up circuit that's going on in a different thread.

imagine a 1AA flashlight with one of the new 18 candela LEDs that's dim-able and lasts for hours (days?). heaven.

Chris M.

Flashlight Enthusiast
imagine a 1AA flashlight with one of the new 18 candela LEDs that's dim-able and lasts for hours (days?)