Newbie waiting and wondering

Nitelite78

Newly Enlightened
Newbie here waiting on my first "proper" flashlight to arrive and wondering if made the right decision! I have a Nitecore p12gt on its way with a 3400mah battery and a Xtar VC2 charger. It will be used for all my outdoor adventures from camping trips to hunting/fishing trips and I was entertaining the idea of EDCing it for work also. Now I'm thinking of maybe something a bit more compact like a Klarus Mi7...oh boy I think my newest addiction has begun!

Timothybil

Flashlight Enthusiast
As an all-around flashlight, I think the P12GT was a good choice. It is small enough that it should EDC on your belt without any problems. One thing, the mantra around here is "Two is One, and One is None!", meaning that if you only have a single light along and something goes wrong, you are cast into the outer darkness. On the other hand, if you have a light like the P12GT as your primary light, your backup light could be an EC11 which would use the CR123 cells that bykfixer recommended for emergency uses. You could also add something like the Tube or TIP for a keychain/zipper pull setup for when just a little light would be enough. When away from home, you can never have too many lights along (although the back packers amongst us would disagree, but they are weird anyway).

Str8stroke

Flashlight Enthusiast
Nothing wrong with your selection. You have to buy and learn. Sell whatever doesn't work. Plus it makes a great excuse to buy more. :)

lightfooted

Flashlight Enthusiast
Newbie here waiting on my first "proper" flashlight to arrive and wondering if made the right decision! I have a Nitecore p12gt on its way with a 3400mah battery and a Xtar VC2 charger. It will be used for all my outdoor adventures from camping trips to hunting/fishing trips and I was entertaining the idea of EDCing it for work also. Now I'm thinking of maybe something a bit more compact like a Klarus Mi7...oh boy I think my newest addiction has begun!