Why no up/down toggle switches for brightness?

lumen aeternum

Enlightened
Its stupid to have to cycle thru 100% to get to Moonlight. Or whatever-- you ruin your vision cycling "up" to go around to "low."

There are toggle switches -- why not on flashlights?

Polynikes

Newly Enlightened
My Olight M1X Striker has a shortcut to moonlight...
While the light is off, you hold the side switch down while pressing the tail switch...
I'm sure other lights have shortcuts to them too. I'm fairly new to lights though so I can't give any other examples.

emarkd

Flashlight Enthusiast
Lots of lights have shortcuts like PolyNikes said, but there are other options. There's quite a few lights out there now with the ToyKeeper/BLF firmware options that have short-press for brighter, long-press for dimmer, mode switching. Another option to solve the same problem are the rotary ring controlled lights, like the Nitecore SRT line, Sunwaymans, or (the best) HDS Rotary.

In other words, you don't have to have a light that cycles directly through all modes. There's plenty of options. Shop around and find one you like.

Thom2022

Enlightened
Some drivers have a long press function to go down the brightness levels and a short press to go up.

schuster

Newly Enlightened
One of my favorite designs was used in the old Liteflux series.
While the UI was overly complex for a single button interface (remember the cheat sheets?) they did have a feature that's relevant to this discussion.
You were able to simulate "continuously variable" output by having a button press slowly ramp the brightness up or down in microsteps.
AFAIK nobody does that anymore ... why?

emarkd

Flashlight Enthusiast
You were able to simulate "continuously variable" output by having a button press slowly ramp the brightness up or down in microsteps.
AFAIK nobody does that anymore ... why?