HDS Systems        
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Nitecore charger question

  1. #1
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    271

    Default Nitecore charger question

    Does the Nitecore D4 or D2 show on the screen what amp the batteries are charging at?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Nitecore charger question

    My D4 does.

  3. #3
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    271

    Default Re: Nitecore charger question

    Is the only different between the D4 and D2 is the number of bays? Can you change the charging amp or does the charger automatic detect the battery and decide what amp to charge it at?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Nitecore charger question

    Quote Originally Posted by carnage View Post
    Is the only different between the D4 and D2 is the number of bays? Can you change the charging amp or does the charger automatic detect the battery and decide what amp to charge it at?

    I don't own a D2 but it stands to reason it would be the same.

    Mike

  5. #5
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    271

    Default Re: Nitecore charger question

    Quote Originally Posted by Arizona_Mike View Post
    I don't own a D2 but it stands to reason it would be the same.

    Mike


    Thanks for the replies!

  6. #6
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    271

    Default Re: Nitecore charger question

    Does anyone else know the difference between Nitecore D2 and D4? Does anyone know if the charging amp is set or can you set the charging amp yourself

  7. #7

    Default Re: Nitecore charger question

    HJK did a thorough review of the D4 which can be found at the link below. I have the D4 and I am happy with mine.

    http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?391851-Test-Review-of-Charger-NiteCore-Intellicharger-D4

    There have been some issues with counterfeit Nitecore chargers:

    http://budgetlightforum.com/node/44203

    Bob

  8. #8
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    271

    Default Re: Nitecore charger question

    On HKJ review on the D4 I don't know if the charger pick the amp or he did. I don't want the charger to pick a higher amp that is needed that why I'm asking this question.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Nitecore charger question

    The charge current on the D4 is 750mA per channel (300mA per channel for low power mode). Slots 1&4 are one channel and 2&3 are another (not well documented--and different than the i4 which was 1&3 and 2&4*) If you have 2 cells on the same channel current drops in half in both modes 375mA (or 150mA in low power mode). If you manually select low current it is 300mA/150mAm.

    You can select low power mode by a long press on an individual slot basis even on the same channel. For example you could have a cell in S1 at 750mA and S3 at 750 or 300mA or one in S1 at 375 and S4 at either 375 or 150mA.

    If you want the same current on each cell your choices are:
    1 cell: 300 or 750mA
    2 cells: 150,300,375, or 750mA
    3 cells: No matched choices
    4 cells: 150 or 375mA

    Mike

    *-These chargers can only charge 2 26650s. For fastest charge use 1&3 or 2&4 in the D4 and 1&4 in the i4.
    Last edited by Arizona_Mike; 04-21-2017 at 04:17 PM.

  10. #10
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    271

    Default Re: Nitecore charger question

    Quote Originally Posted by Arizona_Mike View Post
    The charge current on the D4 is 750mA per channel (300mA per channel for low power mode). Slots 1&4 are one channel and 2&3 are another (not well documented--and different than the i4 which was 1&3 and 2&4*) If you have 2 cells on the same channel current drops in half in both modes 375mA (or 150mA in low power mode). If you manually select low current it is 300mA/150mAm.

    You can select low power mode by a long press on an individual slot basis even on the same channel. For example you could have a cell in S1 at 750mA and S3 at 750 or 300mA or one in S1 at 375 and S4 at either 375 or 150mA.

    If you want the same current on each cell your choices are:
    1 cell: 300 or 750mA
    2 cells: 150,300,375, or 750mA
    3 cells: No matched choices
    4 cells: 150 or 375mA

    Mike

    *-These chargers can only charge 2 26650s. For fastest charge use 1&3 or 2&4 in the D4 and 1&4 in the i4.
    Say if you charge 4 Eneloops will they charge at the same rate?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •