NITECORE -- Keep Innovating        
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 84

Thread: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

  1. #1

    Default v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

















    More examples:
    Quote Originally Posted by euroken View Post
    Haven't had this much fun in a long time...

    BOSS-e legos...Thank you OR!!!





























    Last edited by ElectronGuru; 04-26-2017 at 12:15 PM.
    Control the Dark

    OR Facebook | OR Forum
    | OR Insider | OVEREADY.com

  2. #2
    Flashaholic kellyglanzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    436

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Yes please.
    WTB Surefire M1 (interested even if you only have the body.)

  3. #3

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Got mine. I really like this light engine. I have the v5 wasp, copper and BOSS. Going to sell my copper now that I have a more versatile and up-gradable e-series version.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    archimedes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    CONUS, top left
    Posts
    7,360

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    I just worry about melted vintage switches ...
    ... is the archimedes peak

  5. #5

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by archimedes View Post
    I just worry about melted vintage switches ...
    The mcclicky conversion is a must. I just love the feel of the classic SF switch.

  6. #6
    Moderator


    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Penn's Woods
    Posts
    5,721

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by archimedes View Post
    I just worry about melted vintage switches ...
    I can't recall off the top of my head what the stock SF twistys were able to withstand, amp wise. I realize most folks will use clickys, but I'm curious.

  7. #7

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Triple v5 is incredible, love the specs.
    Last edited by night.hoodie; 04-21-2017 at 06:56 PM.

  8. #8
    peter yetman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    North Norfolk UK
    Posts
    1,517

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Scout, I'm still trying to find the actual current rating for the twisty,
    I did find this post about the voltage drop across the switch (Z41) which is very relevant.
    http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/...=1#post3419489
    P
    Quote from Oveready...
    The McClicky is good up to about 5 amps. The Z41 twisty will not blow until well above 5 amps, but it will start retarding energy flow (resistance) well before that.
    Last edited by peter yetman; 04-22-2017 at 06:35 AM.

  9. #9
    xdayv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    977

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Are the OR Z41 McClicky switches able to handle draw of the E-series V5?
    Dave
    "vanilla never smelled this good, not until it is in one of the tailcap rubber switches..."

  10. #10

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by xdayv View Post
    Are the OR Z41 McClicky switches able to handle draw of the E-series V5?
    Yes, all BOSS (on which this head is based) use that exact switch.
    Control the Dark

    OR Facebook | OR Forum
    | OR Insider | OVEREADY.com

  11. #11
    xdayv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    977

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by ElectronGuru View Post
    Yes, all BOSS (on which this head is based) use that exact switch.
    Great. This further expands the lego possibilites now with the release of the E-series V5 head. Thanks Sir.
    Dave
    "vanilla never smelled this good, not until it is in one of the tailcap rubber switches..."

  12. #12

    Default v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Last edited by ElectronGuru; 04-22-2017 at 10:55 AM.

  13. #13
    xdayv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    977

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    looks sexy ^^ this one paired with a BOSS 35! Perfect match... the bezel design alone will inspire a lot of the BOSSes to grab one.
    Dave
    "vanilla never smelled this good, not until it is in one of the tailcap rubber switches..."

  14. #14

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    The scout heads look great!
    Promethean #46

  15. #15

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Tom, can you please confirm these will run with the surefire tapeswitch saftey?

    This couldnt have come at a better time. I just found a major flaw in my OR v5 X300 mounted on my SCAR with tape switch (flaw in the tape switch, not the OR x300) I want to replace it with a m600 and this head. Thanks buddy.

  16. #16

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Did you have to replace the Surefire E1B tailcap to an OR mcclicky switch for it to work.

    I read on their website that it is recommended, but want to make sure that it would work without it. Don't know how to replace it myself. Thanks

  17. #17
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    998

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by JPA261 View Post
    Did you have to replace the Surefire E1B tailcap to an OR mcclicky switch for it to work.

    I read on their website that it is recommended, but want to make sure that it would work without it. Don't know how to replace it myself. Thanks
    The E1b tailcap in the picture has McClicky installed. I haven't tried running it on stock switch as it was not recommended.

  18. #18
    Flashaholic* Moddoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,238

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Hello Guys,

    I'm deep into BOSS production here.

    I will try to address some of the switch questions soon for you.

    The short answer is to set the lights to a lower level for use with surefire switches.
    What is the highest level that is safe to use? That I need to work on for you guys.

  19. #19

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by mikesantor View Post
    Tom, can you please confirm these will run with the surefire tapeswitch saftey?

    This couldnt have come at a better time. I just found a major flaw in my OR v5 X300 mounted on my SCAR with tape switch (flaw in the tape switch, not the OR x300) I want to replace it with a m600 and this head. Thanks buddy.
    I have a spare scout body and tape switch (that tests fine with this head).
    Let me know if you'd like to borrow them!
    Control the Dark

    OR Facebook | OR Forum
    | OR Insider | OVEREADY.com

  20. #20
    Moderator


    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Penn's Woods
    Posts
    5,721

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    euroken- You're KILLING me with those pics!!! I see two combos I'd really like to try, as great as the BOSS 35 body is...

  21. #21
    Moderator
    archimedes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    CONUS, top left
    Posts
    7,360

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Which two ... ?
    ... is the archimedes peak

  22. #22

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    I'm curious too! I got my e-series head tonight, and it's very cool! So far I've only tried it on a Mcgizmo 123 pack, (which is great) but I am looking forward to trying it with the Malkoff MDC 123 body I have in the mail.
    SureFire - Quality and brilliance

  23. #23
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    998

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    How about this one? Sorry for the terrible pic.

    Surefire U2 body with Tana e adaptor.


  24. #24

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    So just ordered my first V5 triple head from Oveready/Torchlab. Always nervous about picking one up cause of the complexity but thought I would give it a try.

    Got the high only option with intent to use it with rechargeable batteries and CR 123 for emergencies.

    Looking forward to getting it and got a new mcclicky switch also to replace my E1B switch.

  25. #25
    Moderator
    archimedes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    CONUS, top left
    Posts
    7,360

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    I doubt "high only" mode is compatible with 2x CR123A

    It is programmable, however, and you can program different "1 cell settings" vs "2 cell settings"
    ... is the archimedes peak

  26. #26
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    998

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by JPA261 View Post
    So just ordered my first V5 triple head from Oveready/Torchlab. Always nervous about picking one up cause of the complexity but thought I would give it a try.

    Got the high only option with intent to use it with rechargeable batteries and CR 123 for emergencies.

    Looking forward to getting it and got a new mcclicky switch also to replace my E1B switch.
    Congrats! You won't regret it. Just to make sure, you need the 'modified' McCliky to fit the E1B switch. It's the ones that OR carries for Z57/Z61 tailcaps.

    Enjoy!

  27. #27

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Well good to know, thanks Archimedes. I'll play around with it and maybe find a setting that will be safe for both 16340 or 1 CR123 battery.

    Thanks euroekn. Yes I did purchase the modified McClicky through Oveready. Be interesting how this switch feels since I'm so use to Surefire's switch

  28. #28

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Attachment 5405
    My new everyday light! The Scout Head looks great on my AlTiN Coated 2x123 body. Running primaries provides plenty of light I need.

    Last edited by ElectronGuru; 05-03-2017 at 12:34 PM.

  29. #29
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    998

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneking View Post
    Attachment 5405
    My new everyday light! The Scout Head looks great on my AlTiN Coated 2x123 body. Running primaries provides plenty of light I need.
    reaally cool.

  30. #30
    Unenlightened Jonas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Northern Germany
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    This table shows all three possible cell configurations v5 is able to work with, as well as the associated power limits for each cell configuration:




    Quote Originally Posted by JPA261 View Post
    So just ordered my first V5 triple head from Oveready/Torchlab. Always nervous about picking one up cause of the complexity but thought I would give it a try.

    Got the high only option with intent to use it with rechargeable batteries and CR 123 for emergencies.

    Looking forward to getting it and got a new mcclicky switch also to replace my E1B switch.

    If you want max high only for both mode groups
    --> first mode group: 1x Li-Ion
    --> second mode group: 2x CR123A (for backup)
    your program should look like this:






    With 2x CR123A cells, the v5 is limited to a maximum of 8.8W (this is the maximum CR123A cells are able to handle safely!).





    If you want max high only for both mode groups
    --> first mode group: 1x Li-Ion
    --> second mode group: 2x Li-Ion
    your program should look like this:

    Do NOT use 2xCR123A cells in this case!





    In general:
    Make sure to use high quality cells at all times (Li-Ion & CR123A)!
    18650 can be either high drain (IMR) or high capacity
    18350 should be always high drain (IMR)
    16340 should be always high drain (IMR)



    Quote Originally Posted by archimedes View Post
    I doubt "high only" mode is compatible with 2x CR123A

    It is programmable, however, and you can program different "1 cell settings" vs "2 cell settings"

    Program the second mode group to 2x Li-Ion and the v5 will also run with 2x CR123A cells.
    In this case, when using CR123A cells, make sure to NOT use any mode above 8.8W!



    I hope this explains the "high only" vs CR123A concern?
    If anything is not clear, let me know.
    Last edited by Jonas; 05-04-2017 at 06:51 AM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •