Wuben        
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 60 of 91

Thread: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

  1. #31

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Thanks Jonas for the info!!! I noticed you mention using 2 CR123 batteries. Is it safe to use 1 CR123 battery if I program it to a lower mode like mode 15

  2. #32
    Unenlightened Jonas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Northern Germany
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by JPA261 View Post
    Thanks Jonas for the info!!! I noticed you mention using 2 CR123 batteries. Is it safe to use 1 CR123 battery if I program it to a lower mode like mode 15
    You are welcome!


    According to Dan (OVEREADY) and Serge (Lux-RC), the v5 light engine was not designed to run with just a single CR123A cell.

    In your previous post I recognized that you are using a SF E1B with the v5 E-head?
    In this case you are limited to a single cell anyway.
    That is not ideal for a "high only" setup when planing to use 1x Li-Ion as main cell and CR123A for backup.

    For your E1B you are limited to the first mode group for 1x Li-Ion which is
    intended to work between 4.2V and 2.8V (or down to 2.5V when battery protection is OFF).

    A single CR123A cell only provides around 3V (or a bit more when fresh).
    This is already close to the 2.8V threshold voltage, the v5 uses to protect a single Li-Ion cell from overdischarge.

    In theory, lower modes that do not draw a lot of amps, would work with one CR123A.
    Level 15 with just 270mW (0.27W) is fairly low and safe to use with a single CR123A cell.
    On the other hand when using just mode 15 with 1x Li-Ion also, the potential of the v5 is kinda wasted.

    What mode would you like to use as "high only" when running on 1x Li-Ion cell?
    Do you use a 16340 IMR or 18350 IMR with your E1B?



    This would be an alternative to "high only" and allows the use of a single CR123A cell:

    Go up to 17W as your second mode when running on a single Li-Ion cell (17W is the limit for 1x Li-Ion cell).
    Use the first mode only when running on your CR123A backup cell.

    Last edited by Jonas; 05-04-2017 at 06:40 AM.

  3. #33

    Default v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Well, i plan on using a 16340 battery with my E1B. I don't think 18350 batteries will fit in my backup, will it? As for mode, I would like to use as many lumens as I can get with a pretty good runtime. So mode 28? Safe to use on 1 16340 battery?

    I know I will prob won't get a nice runtime especially on high only but this will only serve as a back up light. I have a Surefire titan for edc. Plus I can always keep spare 16340 batteries in my bag.
    Last edited by JPA261; 05-04-2017 at 04:43 PM.

  4. #34

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by ElectronGuru View Post
    I have a spare scout body and tape switch (that tests fine with this head).
    Let me know if you'd like to borrow them!
    Thanks buddy. My V5 head is due in the mail today and I have 2 tapes. Going to test it out and see how it goes. If all goes well it will all get mounted on my SCAR and ran in a Low light/no light carbine class next month.

    Thanks guys!

  5. #35

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    So I got my V5 head with High only programmed , and shocked how small and nice looking it is. Can't believe it took me so long to finally get one. Can't wait to try it out at night.

    Works great on my E1B backup with 16340 battery.

    However, I am having trouble programming this light. I could get it into program mode (on, off 3x and click on on 4th) but it doesn't seem to want to download anything from the Lux RC website. Is it because I am using my iPad? Thought other people were able to program it with the iPad?

  6. #36

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Try going in a dark room (bathroom with lights off). It programs easier with low ambient light.

    Also, I could not get either if my 2 x300 v5s to program off the video player that pops up. I had to download the code and play it back that way. It was very strange.

    Maybe try these 2 things.


    Got my EV5 in. Ooh my. Very, VERY nice.

  7. #37
    Flashaholic* the0dore3524's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    California (Bay Area)
    Posts
    1,197

    Default v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by JPA261 View Post
    So I got my V5 head with High only programmed , and shocked how small and nice looking it is. Can't believe it took me so long to finally get one. Can't wait to try it out at night.

    Works great on my E1B backup with 16340 battery.

    However, I am having trouble programming this light. I could get it into program mode (on, off 3x and click on on 4th) but it doesn't seem to want to download anything from the Lux RC website. Is it because I am using my iPad? Thought other people were able to program it with the iPad?
    You can program it easily via the web on iPad. However, Safari doesn't allow you to download videos or web files. You will need to use another browser or file Downloader to get it. Or you could do what I did...downloaded the video file on my PC and then synced with Dropbox. From Dropbox on my phone I downloaded the video files. Cheers!
    Last edited by the0dore3524; 05-05-2017 at 05:44 PM.
    My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcp...5oUVN8rPDveKYA (EDC, Gear Reviews, and More!)

  8. #38

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by the0dore3524 View Post
    You can program it easily via the web on iPad. However, Safari doesn't allow you to download videos or web files. You will need to use another browser or file Downloader to get it. Or you could do what I did...downloaded the video file on my PC and then synced with Dropbox. Cheers!
    I actually have files downloaded to my phone so I can program in the field. Such flexible lights.

  9. #39
    Flashaholic Stoneking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    344

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    I'm running the Scout Head with 2x Primaries, so max lumens for me should be 1010.52.
    It gets warm fairly quick... my understanding is that once it reaches 150F it will step down. I've tried lowering the temperature step down in advanced settings but it doesn't let me, probably because I'm on an iPhone.
    Is 150F low enough to avoid fading or damage to the led? Or should I still be aware of the heat and step the light down on my own?
    On max this thing must get hot instantly!
    4500k XPL RD BOSS • 4000k 219C BOSS Ti • 2700k HDS Rotary

  10. #40

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Anybody have pics of this on a MDC body? Seems like a good option to save $100 or so off the cost of a BOSS.
    Hello darkness my old friend,
    I've come to talk with you again...
    I liked neutral tints before they were cool.

  11. #41

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    I do! I'll try and get it up tonight yet. It looks great with the Boss e-series head.
    SureFire - Quality and brilliance

  12. #42

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by JPA261 View Post
    I am having trouble programming this light. I could get it into program mode (on, off 3x and click on on 4th) but it doesn't seem to want to download anything from the Lux RC website. Is it because I am using my iPad? Thought other people were able to program it with the iPad?
    iPhones and iPads are the most tested among our group. Two possibilities come to mind:
    1) its not actually in programming mode. If you leave the red mode from 222 alone for a bit, does it start to flash?
    2) screen brightness is not high enough. crank it all way the way up and leave the flashing red on it for 2+ green/green cycles


    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneking View Post
    I'm running the Scout Head with 2x Primaries, so max lumens for me should be 1010.52.
    It gets warm fairly quick... my understanding is that once it reaches 150F it will step down. I've tried lowering the temperature step down in advanced settings but it doesn't let me, probably because I'm on an iPhone.
    Is 150F low enough to avoid fading or damage to the led? Or should I still be aware of the heat and step the light down on my own?
    On max this thing must get hot instantly!
    v5 components are certified up to 248F, the point at which the board will enforce dimming, even if thermal regulation is disabled. Web temperature settings are locked to prevent you setting above 150, for personal safety.

    Videos in section H, allow you to set it all the way down to 90F:
    http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/...ead.php?403685

    Links to these videos are also posted to BOSS sales pages.
    Control the Dark

    OR Facebook | OR Forum
    | OR Insider | OVEREADY.com

  13. #43

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Yup, For sure replaced the X300 V5...




  14. #44

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by ElectronGuru View Post
    iPhones and iPads are the most tested among our group. Two possibilities come to mind:
    1) its not actually in programming mode. If you leave the red mode from 222 alone for a bit, does it start to flash?
    2) screen brightness is not high enough. crank it all way the way up and leave the flashing red on it for 2+ green/
    Thanks I was able to get it! Love how smart this head is. Decided to do mode 28 (17w) and mode 10 3(36mW) on a single IMR16340 battery.

    Just to confirm, I probably can't safely go any higher than mode 28 on 1 IMR16340 correct? I can't go the full 100% afterburn mode right?

  15. #45
    Flashaholic* the0dore3524's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    California (Bay Area)
    Posts
    1,197

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by JPA261 View Post
    Thanks I was able to get it! Love how smart this head is. Decided to do mode 28 (17w) and mode 10 3(36mW) on a single IMR16340 battery.

    Just to confirm, I probably can't safely go any higher than mode 28 on 1 IMR16340 correct? I can't go the full 100% afterburn mode right?
    Yes, no higher than more 28. I wouldn't worry about it, though, as the head will automatically restrict the highest mode to 28 even if you set it higherZ
    My YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcp...5oUVN8rPDveKYA (EDC, Gear Reviews, and More!)

  16. #46

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by the0dore3524 View Post
    Yes, no higher than more 28. I wouldn't worry about it, though, as the head will automatically restrict the highest mode to 28 even if you set it higherZ
    Thanks!!! Thought so, just wanted to confirm.

    Love this head so much had to buy another one. I'm hooked. Time to save up for the BOSS!

  17. #47
    Flashaholic* xdayv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    1,815

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by Random Dan View Post
    Anybody have pics of this on a MDC body? Seems like a good option to save $100 or so off the cost of a BOSS.
    There is a recent one @ the WTS subforum.

  18. #48
    Unenlightened Jonas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Northern Germany
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by JPA261 View Post
    Well, i plan on using a 16340 battery with my E1B. I don't think 18350 batteries will fit in my backup, will it? As for mode, I would like to use as many lumens as I can get with a pretty good runtime. So mode 28? Safe to use on 1 16340 battery?

    I know I will prob won't get a nice runtime especially on high only but this will only serve as a back up light. I have a Surefire titan for edc. Plus I can always keep spare 16340 batteries in my bag.
    Sorry for the late answer!

    It seems that most things have been addressed already.
    No, 18350 won't fit in a stock E1B.
    Last edited by Jonas; 05-08-2017 at 06:38 AM.

  19. #49
    peter yetman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    North Norfolk UK
    Posts
    2,898

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Here's the pics of the V5 on an mdc body from the WTS. EG posted them in the BOSS thread and I think they deserve posting here too....
    Quote Originally Posted by ca2fl View Post








    Last edited by peter yetman; 05-08-2017 at 06:58 AM.

  20. #50
    nfetterly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cincinnati area, but lots of travel
    Posts
    3,667

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    I'm on the edge, have a head in my cart, along with some switches & more batteries.

    What I want to know is dimensionally (apparently not a word) how does this compare to say a Haiku head, LS20, PD, etc... I've got some AOTH holsters that work with the McGizmo line (Haiku is e-series compatible I believe). This head looks like it flares out a bit and is wider by the lens then it is at the threads (or it just may be a perspective issue).

    I'm out on the road right now so I cannot measure my McGizmo - in Don's intro to it he gives the length, but not diameter.


  21. #51
    Flashaholic* Moddoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,243

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    These heads are just a hair under 1" in diameter. They use the same bezel as the BOSS.

    There is no taper or flare to the head shape.

  22. #52
    Flashaholic Stoneking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    344

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by nfetterly View Post
    I'm on the edge, have a head in my cart, along with some switches & more batteries.

    What I want to know is dimensionally (apparently not a word) how does this compare to say a Haiku head, LS20, PD, etc... I've got some AOTH holsters that work with the McGizmo line (Haiku is e-series compatible I believe). This head looks like it flares out a bit and is wider by the lens then it is at the threads (or it just may be a perspective issue).

    I'm out on the road right now so I cannot measure my McGizmo - in Don's intro to it he gives the length, but not diameter.
    Haiku head and Scout head are the same diameter. Haiku head is 1 7/16 length, Scout head is 1 3/16 length.
    http://i.imgur.com/Rb2qqOm.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/SBddv4v.jpg

    Pull the trigger, the Scout head is absolutely worth every penny!! Hope this helps.
    4500k XPL RD BOSS • 4000k 219C BOSS Ti • 2700k HDS Rotary

  23. #53
    nfetterly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cincinnati area, but lots of travel
    Posts
    3,667

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoneking View Post
    Haiku head and Scout head are the same diameter. Haiku head is 1 7/16 length, Scout head is 1 3/16 length.
    http://i.imgur.com/Rb2qqOm.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/SBddv4v.jpg

    Pull the trigger, the Scout head is absolutely worth every penny!! Hope this helps.
    Trigger to be pulled. I have Wasp V5 (have it with me now up in Canada, Tl50s, zero rez tail, ano'd clip - Promethesus I think), V5 drop in, V5 copper, 2 Boss heads, so this would make it an even half dozen. I think I'll be selling alot of lesser lights if I spend anytime at home.

    Oh and thank you for enabling me....


  24. #54
    Flashaholic Stoneking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    344

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by nfetterly View Post
    Trigger to be pulled. I have Wasp V5 (have it with me now up in Canada, Tl50s, zero rez tail, ano'd clip - Promethesus I think), V5 drop in, V5 copper, 2 Boss heads, so this would make it an even half dozen. I think I'll be selling alot of lesser lights if I spend anytime at home.

    Oh and thank you for enabling me....

    Man.... a Wasp, I'd love one of those.
    I've noticed that everyone is an enabler on here, just doing my part.
    4500k XPL RD BOSS • 4000k 219C BOSS Ti • 2700k HDS Rotary

  25. #55

    Default v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    So I mainly have this light on high, 100%. I don't use this light for constant on for an extended period of time, so mainly just momentary. Is there a more likely chance for an LED to break or the circuit board to melt, if I mainly use this light for momentary and once a while constant on?

    Just concerned of reliability for long time use in the end. Want this head to last a while

  26. #56

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    38.7296° N, 120.7985° W
    Posts
    978

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by JPA261 View Post
    So I mainly have this light on high, 100%. I don't use this light for constant on for an extended period of time, so mainly just momentary. Is there a more likely chance for an LED to break or the circuit board to melt, if I mainly use this light for momentary and once a while constant on?

    Just concerned of reliability for long time use in the end. Want this head to last a while
    Don't they have thermal protection?.

  27. #57
    nfetterly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Cincinnati area, but lots of travel
    Posts
    3,667

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by AndyF View Post
    Don't they have thermal protection?.
    Yes, they step down in small increments - barely noticeable first time it happened to me - I was going for run time on a wasp with 2 18350s and it was longer than it whould have been due to the stepping down I didn't catch.


  28. #58

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    1,091

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by JPA261 View Post
    So I mainly have this light on high, 100%. I don't use this light for constant on for an extended period of time, so mainly just momentary. Is there a more likely chance for an LED to break or the circuit board to melt, if I mainly use this light for momentary and once a while constant on?

    Just concerned of reliability for long time use in the end. Want this head to last a while
    First, I'm not an expert on this topic

    I'm guessing the question is regarding the longevity of the light given the extreme output levels and power it feeds on

    I'm confident that Torchlab/Oveready team has spent a lot of time on designing this light to last a very long time, and have put it through pretty extensive testing to ensure the reliability and durability.

    With that said, keep in mind that the BOSS heads have replaceable boards and optics that if the led was to fail, it can be replaced.

    Lastly, given the track record of OR/Torchlab's customer service, I think you'll be in good hands for a long time to come...

    I know, I'm a fan

  29. #59

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Wow, thanks for the info euroken!! That's good to hear they put it out to some harsh testing. Was just curious cause the head gets pretty hot really fast and was wondering if it blowing out was a possibility.

    That is interesting that the BOSS has replaceable boards and optics and the E- series one don't.

    Guess I just have to pick myself up a BOSS then. Ha

  30. #60

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    1,091

    Default Re: v5 Triple Scout / E Series Heads

    Quote Originally Posted by JPA261 View Post
    Wow, thanks for the info euroken!! That's good to hear they put it out to some harsh testing. Was just curious cause the head gets pretty hot really fast and was wondering if it blowing out was a possibility.

    That is interesting that the BOSS has replaceable boards and optics and the E- series one don't.

    Guess I just have to pick myself up a BOSS then. Ha
    As Electronguru always say, getting hot quickly is a good sign. It means that the head is drawing the heat from the source as fast as possible and helping it to dissipate heat. If it DIDN'T get hot quickly, I'd be more worried.

    Here is the chart that you can take a look to see what the differences are in OR/Torchlab products:

    http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/...al-Mode-Groups

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •