Rechargeable battery for stock SF M6?

flashfan

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have an old, stock, incandescent SureFire M6. I want to keep it stock and incandescent, but see that SureFire now carries only lamps for the E2 and 6P type models. Lumens Factory carries a 450 lumen lamp that I could use, but it got me to looking at the LF HO-M6R lamp...if I used rcr123 batteries in the stock battery carrier for the M6.

I did some searching, and found some very old (2008) threads that say that rcr123 batteries work fine with the HO-M6R lamp in the stock M6. More recent posts seem to indicate that the 16340 battery (replaced the rcr?) is the one to use. So the question is, which 16340 battery is "best" and "safest" to use? I am NOT tech savvy and if available, want a protected, "plug and play" type of battery/flashlight. (FWIW, I have a Nitecore intellicharger, so if I can use the same charger, that would be best.)

If I need to stick primaries and the 450 lumen lamp, so be it. Thanks for any advice and opinions.

flashfan

Flashlight Enthusiast
fivemega, thank you very much for your reply. Yes, I do know that the HO-M6R will NOT work with primary lithium batteries. I also read that the 16340 battery in the MB20 is NOT optimum...it's just that I have "only" the stock battery carrier. Besides, isn't the 3x16650 battery carrier a "custom" item that is no longer available (commercially or custom), except perhaps from time to time in the Marketplace? I guess I'll give the 16340 batteries a try. Any recommendations as to "best/safest" brand? Thanks again!

Daniel_sk

Flashlight Enthusiast