Hiding in plain sight..

arKmm

Enlightened
I've lived in this house for many years. In the kitchen for many years there has been a shelf that my mother put up to place some of her father's (my grandfather) items that he'd passed to her. My grandfather passed in 1972 before I was born, and my mother died in 2013. I've since lived in the house on my own, and although I've changed quite a bit in the place, I'd never really paid much attention to *that* shelf. I work as a Police Officer and almost all of my flashlight collection is in relation to that and I don't have any incandescent or vintage devices.

Except, I was wrong. I do. It's easy when something has been in place for so long to not notice it, but in preparation for moving house soon I have been clearing out boxes and areas that haven't really been touched. And that shelf is one of those. And in doing so I noticed three vintage torches, which had belonged to my grandfather. However, with no-one alive to tell the story, I'm not sure where they came from.

Here they are:

0UzcptM.jpg

I've done a bit of searching online and have discovered that the one in the middle is a Daimon Telko which I had originally thought had been perhaps from the railway industry, however is most likely a WW2 era Wehrmacht device. My grandfather was an officer in the British Army and worked as a linguist. Speaking (as well as English) Italian, French, and German, he spent most of his time providing interpreting services in PoW camps. So, I can only guess that's perhaps how the Telko came to be in his possession. I'm sure there's more to it than that to explain why he and my mother kept it for so many years, but it's an interesting story nonetheless.

The other two however, I'm not sure of their origin. The wooden device is superbly crafted but extremely rudimentary. The red metal torch is clearly more modern, but wouldn't be more than 1960's era at most I imagine.

What can CPF tell me about these?

Attachments