Insomnia?

redvalkyrie

Enlightened
Does anyone else suffer from insomnia? i've been dealing with this for 17 years. I work out each mornng. Only have one caffeinated coffe to into morning.

I've used Ambien, Lunesta, Immaprin, self meditation, better bed, I currently taking a mix of clonazepan and Tizanadine. They work but I can tell their usefulness is wearing.

There seem to be some night hawks here. So, I thought you fellas might have any insight. My drain, no matter the time or my level of exhaustion just kickes in full force at nigh.

Thanks
John

TimeOnTarget

Newly Enlightened
I am a long haul freight pilot. My sleep cycles are constantly jacked up from crossing multiple time zones.

I don't have an answer to your problem, but I simply sleep when I am tired no matter what time of the day that is. When I am home for a while, I generally fall back into a more normal rhythm.

On the road, my sleep seems to come in 3-4 hour blocks. Only when I am completely exhausted do I sleep 8 hour non-stop.

terryoregon

Newly Enlightened
Trauma Releasing Exercises (TRE) is what I use. Highly activates the parasympathetic nervous system (makes us feel calm and relaxed), which is what the brain needs to shut down. Good for a lot of other things as well. TRE is based on the simple concept that the nervous system has a natural innate way of recovering from stress if we don't suppress it. You're just stuck slightly in flight/fight/freeze, TRE brings the nervous system out of fight/flight/freeze.

Can be learned in one live class or a video from Amazon here or the author's website here https://traumaprevention.com/sleep-stress-relaxation/

Last edited:

aginthelaw

Flashlight Enthusiast