Olight - S1 - MINI        

Thread: Is this 18650 safe to use? Slightly peeled wrapping

Unenlightened

Default Is this 18650 safe to use? Slightly peeled wrapping

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to 18650-based flashlights and recently purchased a used SC600w mk III HI, which I am still waiting for to arrive in the mail. In this regard I also purchased a couple LG MJ1s as the protected 18650s I already have don't fit that particular flashlight. The zip-lock bag the cells were contained within had probably not been properly closed before they were packaged, so upon opening it one of the cells slid out onto the floor, not hard at all, but enough to create a couple of small peels in the wrapping. As I didn't have a chance to look over the cells before one of them slid out I guess it could technically already have had peeling wrapping, although I doubt it.

I am aware of the potential dangers of 18650s and don't want to take any unnecessary risks, but I couldn't really find any conclusive answer online as to whether this would be enough damage to warrant a rewrapping. I attempted to use a hair dryer to get the peeling parts to stick but it didn't suffice.

Any advice is appreciated.

Default Re: Is this 18650 safe to use? Slightly peeled wrapping

Illumination has battery wrappers and their shipping costs are fair. You might get by but you could end up with a shortness not worth it.

If the cells aren't bulging, I don't think it a major issue, however I would probably paint a dab of non-metallic nail polish on the top where the wrapping is damaged.

Flashaholic*

The exposed metal on the top of the cell greatly increases the chance of a short because - unlike other common consumer level cells - the entire can is negative for 18650 cells. So it takes only a very short piece of metal (keys, coins) to connect the damage-exposed negative top edge to the positive button-top - yielding a dangerous short circuit.

So it would be wise to patch the top tear asap.