Charger advice...

malocchio

Newly Enlightened
I've been using a PILA charger for the last 7 years to charge my 18650 cells....I am in the market for a new charger with 26650 capability and a price under $75...any advice is appreciated !

peter yetman

Flashlight Enthusiast
That IS a steal.
Less of a steal and just over budget, but it depends where you get it, is the Xtar Dragon. I wanted something that I didn't have to mess about programming, that still analysed cells and charged them safely.
I've had mine (actually two) for about six months and I'm so pleased I bought them. The display is the clearest I've seen, also.
You need to check HKJ's site for all there is to know about most of the chargers on the market.
Here......
https://lygte-info.dk/info/roundCellChargerIndex UK.html
and here......
https://lygte-info.dk/info/indexBatteriesAndChargers UK.html

P

Keitho

Enlightened
I got it for its weight--might be worth checking out the charger/powerbank FOLOMOV A1 Magnetic USB Li-ion Battery Charger. It will charge any Li-ion cell at 1A (I got it for a long 21700 cell), and also work as a powerbank. Handy for travel, and less than $10 on skylumen and elsewhere.

+1 on the two chargers recommended above--I own and use both, they are good choices. I might also read HKJ's review of the Enova GYRFALCON ALL-88, an 8-bay charger under your budget. No 2A capability, but it will work with all battery chemistries, 26650's, and hold 8 cells at a time. More of a learning curve than the Opus and Xtar--no PhD required, but not a charger I'd give to my grandma.

Climb14er

Enlightened
I like the Opus BT-C3100. Basically a do-it-all charger.

You can charge two of your 26650 cells at 2A using the two outer slots. For 3-4 cells, it will max out a 1A. You can go all the way down to 200mA for small cells. With all the other functions, it's a steal for around $39.