Newbie - Got an Infinity and a Dorcy CoolBlue light "Turtlelite"-like?

D

**DONOTDELETE**

I'm new to led flashlights. I ordered a silver Infinity with a white led. I read several reviews before I ordered it saying it was a pretty good light. Then I read several posts on this forum and I got the impression I should have gotten an Arc flashlight.

I just received the Infinity and it's better than I expected after reading the posts I read here. I thought it would be weaker than my maglite solitaire but it looks brighter and more even to me. It puts out enough light for things I want it to do.

I didn't buy the Arc light because it was a bit more expensive than the Infinity and I thought with a 5 hour battery life, I might as well just stick with my maglite solitaire (expecting that one to be brighter anyway). Now that I know how bright the infinity is, I'm sure that the Arc lite looks several times brighter than maglite solitaire. Also, this is superficial but if I was going to get an aluminum flashlight, I wanted it silver anodized not black.

Anyway, I was at Wal-mart and found a Dorcy CoolBlue Led light on sale for around $8. It looks like the Turtlelite but it has a yellow case. Then I saw the newer Dorcy Boss flashlights that are completely encased in Rubber (about $4.00 or so) and have a faceted reflector; sturcture-wise they look the same. I bought both and placed the led bulb from the CoolBlue light into the Boss light with faceted reflector. I'm not sure if the led is as bright as the Turtlelite' led but it looks pretty good just the same. When I shine it on a wall it appears brighter than the infinity but has some yellow light in it. When I look straight at the LED, the Infinity looks brighter.