Satellite VS Cable TV and Equipment

Lebkuecher

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been using Satellite for a few months and so far so good. The only thing I don't like is that you have to sign a 1-year contract. I love the guide feature, according to the guy at Radio Shack the guide is what sells a lot of people. The quality is better then digital cables unless you have a storm, then it fades out. This is mainly due to the fact that I don't get 100 percent of the signal. I'm in an apartment with a balcony and awning using a tripod for the dish; the apartment complex will not allow the dish to extend out beyond my balcony so I have some of the signal blocked. What are you using to get you TV signal?

I would like to hear from some of you who are using the high-definition signal and what you think so far? What is your set-up and how well do you like the service and equipment? Anyone using a Plasma Display Panel or Liquid Crystal Display? What do you think? I was in a restaurant the other day and they had a HD TV setup and I couldn't believe the quality. The TV was about 5"s thick, which would be great for a small Apt. I have a Sony Trinitron WEGA that just takes up too much space. I was checking out some of the higher end TVs online and you can almost spend as much money on TV electronics as you can on flashlights. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Also, do you know anyone that is using the satellite high speed Internet option and what do they think of the service?

LitFuse

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
Lebkuecher said:
the apartment complex will not allow the dish to extend out beyond my balcony so I have some of the signal blocked.

[/ QUOTE ]

This may be against the law. I don't know the specifics, but there are laws on the books that guarantee your right to put your dish where you choose as long as it is not a "common/public" area. Perhaps someone with experience in this area will chime in.