Converting Minimag (2AA version)

remuen

Enlightened
Hi folks
It is really great how you all are sharing your knowledge and experience with others!
smile.gif
smile.gif
I already learned a lot!

Even I'm a newbie in this board I started already my second thread. The reason is: I noticed that there are a lot of threats starting on a specific topic but after a few posts changed the topic. You have to get through the whole board to get the informations.
frown.gif
confused.gif

For example I've found several threads with some more or less complete informations on how to convert minimag's but none which has this as a specific topic. So it would be great to keep this single topic in such an own thread and not to change to how to convert a Maglite 3D or something else. I think converting a Minimag (this is the one with 2 AA cells and the little bulb) is a specific topic. (Sorry for such hard words from a newbie
grin.gif
grin.gif
wink.gif
. I'll try to make it better in future!)

I made my first convertion with the Minimag a few weeks ago. It was very simple: Just replacing the bulb with a white Nichia LED and the 2 AA cells with 3 N cells. The result is also very simple that means not satisfying. Its a poor light for such a housing. An ARC AAA as a great tiny little thing is brighter. I own a few of these Minimags and like this housing. Why not making a great LED flashlight out from it?

So what I am searching for: A convertion for the Minimag either with 3 - 6 LED's using the original 2 AA cells or a bulb replacement eg. like the Versaluc PR-2 for bigger flashlights. Of course for the first solution one has to have a step up converter which fits into the head of the Minimag.

My problem is that I'm (better I was) an engineer twenty years ago but completly out of practice. So I wouldn't be able to build my own step up converter even one could find some very good informations on this (eg see here http://mikro.e-technik.uni-ulm.de/persons/lares/LED_flashlight.html#V2 ).