lights to give as gifts????

cue003

Flashlight Enthusiast
trying to get some of my friends into lights and was wondering what you guys would suggest for xmas/bday gifts for under $50 bucks. Keep in mind that these people only know Mag family of products and anything else that is sold at your typical wal-mart/target/k-mart/costco etc.

I would like any suggestions for both LED and Incan, size should be kept to probably no bigger than a Pelican M6. Brighter the better. Runtime should be 1 hour min.

Not sure about battery choices. I may ask that we stay with standard everyday batteries or even better simply specify what the battery type is in the light you are recommending.

Thanks and let the fun begin.

Curtis

CZSteve

Newly Enlightened
Too funny.
JUST made the comment to my wife that we should get her dad a Streamlight Twin-Task 2L for him as a gift.
(I'm thinking might give this as all my gifts. I'm an efficiency expert /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif )

I think it fits your criteria and is a great general purpose light. (ie: glove box light)
-lithium battery: long-term storage not affected by temp.
-LED for extended run time or general lighting that is not too blinding. (map reading in the car)
-xenon lamp for extended throw. (not the best, but a good start)
-approx $32.00 price tag

Used ours last night when the power went out last night for about an hour. The LED's provided plenty of light and was nice to set on the tail pointing at the white ceiling to light rooms when needed in addition to the candles/liquid fuel table lights.

voltus

Newly Enlightened
Elektrolumens Blaster Jr. at pre-sale price of $50.

LS III, Uses 3xAA batteries, lots of runtime (8 hours??)Still small size, Very good build quality. That's my vote.

Lurker

Flashlight Enthusiast
Lights that make cool gifts at various prices:
-Dorcy AAA 1 LED, $6 at Walmart
-Photon Freedom, $20, coin cell keychain light
-Countycomm.com 20 for $20 coin cell keychain lights