Pelican M6 LED head or conversion ?

WesternAustralia

Newly Enlightened
Hi All,

I'm very new to the Flashlight game.
I am a professional Security officer in Western Australia. From what I've seen, not too many people are up with the latest in FL technology here, so it's either Maglite or Stingers !
I have just taken the plunge and purchased a Pelican M6. Fantastic FL for the bucks paid.

What I'd like to know is if the LED head is interchangable or if not, are there any mods I can purchase over here in OZ.

Cheers,
WA

hotbeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to the WILD WILD WORLD of the CPF WA /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

The Pelican M6 has been modded quite a fair bit. You can do it yourself with a McModule, a nice Luxeon and a Badboy/ DownBoy driver. Check out www.anlighten.com/shop/.
If you go with a Li-ion Pila 168S batt from jsburlys.com, you can direct drive a LuxeonIII LED.

Coincidentally /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif I have a McModule + bits for sale here

WesternAustralia

Newly Enlightened
Thanks Hotbeam,

Are the Pelican brand heads interchangeable?
ie; Could I simply buy a Pelican LED head ?

Cheers,
WA

hotbeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
Is this what you have?

PM6inBox.jpg

hotbeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
WesternAustralia said:
Thanks Hotbeam,

Are the Pelican brand heads interchangeable?
ie; Could I simply buy a Pelican LED head ?

Cheers,
WA

[/ QUOTE ]

The 'head' merely comprises of the reflector housing, polycarb lens and reflector. To convert your PM6 to LED, you need to replace the existing bulb module with the McModule + LED + driver (optional). You also need to replace the reflector.

Here are the photos of the bits...

McModule_VWAV_PR.jpg

WesternAustralia

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for all your help on this one, as I said, I'm not really techno-minded...but trying to learn!

What role does the "driver" play ?
And is the above picture what you are selling ?

Atomic6

Flashlight Enthusiast