LED light for around $50

D

**DONOTDELETE**

What is the best LED light for around $50? I'm a newbie to his forum so any help would be appreciated

D

**DONOTDELETE**

I'm looking for a light about the size of a 2 C battery flashlight or smaller. While horseback riding in the local mountains I got lost. My flashlight battery did not last very long that night. I understand that LED flashlights have a longer battery life.

John N

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hmm. The LED lights that come to mind are the Lightwave 3000 (3C/7LED), Inova X5 (2-123/5LED).

You might also look at the CMG Reactor (2AA/1LS) and run it with Lithium batteries (for brightness and runtime). I think the Reactor is not as good a selection as it is very new and it is not clear how sturdy it is yet (there have been a few reported failures).

These should yeld a good ten hours of light. However, note these are not extreamly bright lights either.

You might consider a hybrid solution - a LED light and a conventional light. This would give you a brighter light to get your bearings and then a lower power light with good runtime.

Selection #1:
- $26 PT Surge (8AA, bright!)
- $28 Opalec Newbeam kit for MiniMag
- $10 MiniMag AA (if you don't already have one)
======
$64 ($54 if you already have a MiniMag)

Selection #2:
- $26 PT Surge (8AA, bright!)
- $17 PT Attitude (4AAA/3LED)
======
$43

Selection #3:
- $16 UK 4AA
- $28 Opalec Newbeam kit for MiniMag
- $10 MiniMag AA (if you don't already have one)
======
$54

Selection #4:
- $36 Scorpion (2 123)
- $17 PT Attitude (4AAA/3LED)
======
$53

The Surge is very bright and reasonably small. It actually has a 3+ hr runtime as well.

I would prefer the Opalec Newbeam over the Attitude because it takes the same type cells as the Surge (or UK 4AA) and is regulated so it provides full light output for about 10 hours (doesn't get dimmer over time).

The Attitude provides about the same light output as the Newbeam and is very inexpensive.