Help mod PC case with LED's

D

**DONOTDELETE**

Help mod PC case with LED\'s

I'm going to do some serious PC case modifying and could use some expertise. My PC case is a Directron Dragon DA01SLD full-tower ATX case. Here is a link to what it looks like http://store.yahoo.com/directron/da01sld.html. On both the side panels there are 425 little holes, and I thought it would look cool to put blue LED's in each of those holes. Probably have to hot glue them in, but each hole is about 2 cm in diameter, so I might be better off using a 3mm LED instead of a 5mm. I have heard that I could hook up a string of 3 LED's and a 68 ohm resistor. How would I go about wiring all this up? I am not very good with things like resisters and would like to use a 12v power supply. Am I able to use one resister for more than 3 LED's? Any suggestions as to where I could buy 1000 blue LED's in bulk for the most reasonable price and any wiring diagrams would be very useful and greatly appreciated.
confused.gif

NightShift

Enlightened
Re: Help mod PC case with LED\'s

eX, thats a lot of LEDs and work...I dunno if its worth all that! Nice case tho, I was going to get a case like that but not the server one. I finally found one I liked. I did an LED lighting mod to mine, check it out...

http://members.aol.com/nightshft8/pc/casemod.html

The red light is so much more purer and clear than in the pictures...I would have done it w/blue or white LEDs, but I had a surplus of bright red ones at the time.

D

**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Help mod PC case with LED\'s

425??!! The best price I know of for blue LEDs is $1/ea. That comes to $425
shocked.gif
Is that per side? ($850)
shocked.gif
shocked.gif

May I suggest:
Install a small neon light inside the case, Then fill the holes with clear epoxy, or something, and lightly sand the inside surface for a similar effect for around $20.